President Uhuru Kenyatta appoints panel to recruit Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission commissioners

The recruitment of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) chairperson and commissioners has kicked off, Public Service Commission (PSC) has announced.

This comes after EACC chair Mumo Matemu and commissioners Irene Keino and Prof Josephine Onsongo resigned in April and March respectively.

In a statement posted on PSC’s website Friday, a selection panel of ten members appointed by the president has already commenced sittings ahead of the exercise.

The departure of the three commissioners created a lacuna in the functions of the anti-graft commission that has had far-reaching ramifications on the investigation and prosecution of economic crimes in courts.

“The selection panel for recruitment of the EACC members held its first meeting on June 11, to commence the process of advertising, short-listing, interviewing and recommending names for appointment for the position of chairperson and two members of the commission,” the statement reads in part.

The selection panel chaired by Justice Smokin Wanjala is expected to advertise the three positions in the local dailies in the next seven days.

Members of the panel include Winfred Lichuma (National Gender and Equality Commission), Titus Ndambuki (PSC), Adan Wachu (Inter-Religious Council of Kenya) and Maryanne Kimani-Njau (Office of the Attorney General)

Others are Kagwiria Mbogori, representing the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights, Gladys Karegi Kianji (Association of Professional Societies in East Africa), Kennedy Kihara (Office of The President), and Peter Koli (Media Council of Kenya).

The recruitment of new EACC commissioners will take a month before the names of successful candidates are forwarded to the President for approval. The Head of State will make appointments after 14 days upon receiving the names after which, Parliament will vet the candidates.

Mr Matemu, who had been at the helm of the EACC since 2012, indicated that he was leaving office because of a sustained campaign to kick him out following his unrelenting war on high profile graft in Government and State corporations.

Ms Keino who served as EACC vice-chairperson quit on April 30, citing the desire to shield her family from the anguish of going through a judicial process. Prof Onsongo resigned in March, saying she had been under pressure from external forces to vacate her position.

The decision to remove Matemu and Keino from office was triggered by a petition submitted to the National Assembly by Mr Geoffrey Oriaro, who had argued that they were incapable of leading the war against corruption.