Tokyo 2020 Olympics Kenya gold medalists rewarded Sh1 million each

Team Kenya representatives with President Uhuru Kenyatta at State House, Nairobi, on August 16, 2021. [PSCU]

President Uhuru Kenyatta today received representatives of Team Kenya to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

He announced cash rewards of Sh1 million, Sh750,000 and Sh500,000 for Gold, Silver and Bronze medalists respectively.

President Uhuru Kenyatta greets Ferguson Rotich at State House, Nairobi. [PSCU]

The Head of State further announced a uniform token of Sh200,000 for all athletes and officials, including the Paralympics team, participating in delayed Summer Games.

The President thanked the Olympians for their outstanding performances that saw Kenya top the African medal chart and challenged the sporting fraternity to ensure the country continues to excel on the global stage.

Kenya finished 19th in the overall standings, with the United States of America boasting first place with a total of 113 medals – 39 gold, 41 silver and 33 bronze.

China came second with 88 medals (38 gold, 32 silver and 18 bronze), with hosts Japan in third with 58 medals (27 gold, 14 silver and 17 bronze).

Kenya was the best African nation at the Games with a total of 10 medals – 4 gold, 4 silver and 2 bronze.

Kenya’s medal hunt in Tokyo began with Benjamin Kigen, who won bronze in the Men's 3000m steeplechase final.

Emmanuel Korir then claimed Kenya’s first gold at the Games, storming to victory in the Men’s 800m final, second ahead of compatriot Ferguson Rotich.

Hyvin Kiyeng could only manage bronze in the Women's 3000m steeplechase final, as Faith Kipyegon claimed the country’s second gold medal in the Women’s 1500m final.

Timothy Cheruiyot’s bid to add an Olympic title to his world title failed to materialise after Norway’s Jakob Ingebrigsten compelled him to a Silver medal in the Men’s 1500m final.

Peres Jepchirchir and Brigid Kosgei claimed Kenya’s 8th and 9th medal after a 1-2 finish in the Women’s marathon, followed by Eliud Kipchoge’s exemplary run to claim gold in the Men’s marathon.