President Uhuru reappoints Simon Gicharu to REA

Mount Kenya university founder and Chairman Dr Simon Gicharu.
President Uhuru Kenyatta has reappointed Dr Simon Gicharu to be the chairperson of the Rural Electrification Authority (REA) for a period of three years effective February 8, 2019.

Gicharu, a veteran educationist and founder chairman of Kenya's largest private university, Mount Kenya University (MKU) makes a comeback to REA after a short break following the earlier expiry of his first term where he is credited with among others helping roll out the connection of electricity to Kenyan public primary schools.

His reappointment is contained in the latest edition of the Kenya Gazette Notice no.1205.

At the same time, the Head of State has named Geofrey Ngombo Mwango to be the chairperson of the country's maritime regulator, Kenya Maritime Authority (KMA)  with effect from February 8, 2019  for a period of three years.

SEE ALSO :Practice that gave rise to the idiom 'throw down the gauntlet'

Mwango, a lecturer at the Moi University and a maritime consultant replaces Mwalimu Digore who complete his tenure last year.

Elsewhere, Mombasa Governor Ali Hassan Joho has constituted the Mombasa County Environment Committee that will serve for period of three years.

''In exercise of powers conferred by section 29 of the Environment Management and Coordination Act (EMCA) 1999 as read with section 17 of Environment Management Coordination 2015 , I Hassan Joho , Governor of the County of Mombasa  appoints members of the Mombasa Country Environment Committee for a period of three years ,'' Joho said.

Those appointed include Chief Officers for Tourism, Public Health, County Attorney, Public administration, Finance and Economic Development, Education, Public Health, Water and Natural Resources, Investment and Chief Officer in charge of Inspectorate.  

Register to advertise your products & services on our classifieds website and enjoy one month subscription free of charge and 3 free ads on the Standard newspaper.

REARural Electrification AuthorityMKUKenya Maritime AuthorityKMAGeofrey Ngombo MwangoDr Simon GicharuMombasa Governor Ali Hassan Joho