Senate greenlights National Dialogue Committee

Senate Speaker Amason Kingi during the Senate Special Sitting on the tabled motion of Bipartisan Talk on August 29, 2023 [Boniface Okendo, Standard]

Senate has approved the establishment of a 10-member National Dialogue Committee and another eight-member technical team to support it.

This is according to an announcement by Speaker Amason Kingi during a special sitting on Tuesday, August 29.

"That the two Houses of Parliament establish a National Dialogue committee consisting of ten (10) Members to represent Kenya Kwanza Alliance, a coalition constituting the Majority Party of the Parliament of the Republic of Kenya, and Azimio La Umoja-One Kenya Coalition Party, a coalition forming the Minority Party of the Parliament of the Republic of Kenya," Kingi said.

Senate has also directed that the membership of the committee be drawn within and outside Parliament.

National Assembly Majority leader Kimani Ichung'wah, Governor Cecily Mbarire, Senator Aaron Cheruiyot, Hassan Omar Hassan, and Catherine Wambilianga will represent Kenya Kwanza in the talks.

On the other hand, the Azimio team will be represented by Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka, National Assembly Minority Leader Opiyo Wandayi, Amina Mnyazi, Eugene Wamalwa, and Senator Okong'o Mogeni.

Dr. Muthomi Thiankolu, Dr. Linda Musumba, Dr. Duncan Ojwang, and Nick Biketi will form Kenya Kwanza's technical team while Azimio's team will consist of Jeremiah Kioni, Prof. Adams Oloo, Abubakar Zein Abubakar and Lynn Ngugi.

The committee has also been allowed to pick two extra officers to act as communication secretaries, and are to be appointed by Majority and Minority leaders.

According to Kingi, the Committee is free to engage members of the public, stakeholders, professionals, and experts and collect their views as well as determine its procedure.

The team has 60 days to hold talks and submit a report to parliament.