Junet Mohamed in a spot as Azimio plots House seats

Junet has been under fire on social media that he was part of those who allegedly bungled Raila's campaigns, claims that Azimio refuted through a statement earlier in the week.

A source said the Suna East MP enjoys Raila's favour, but MPs have linked him to the Azimio leader's failed State House bid.

Lawmakers have also disparaged Junet on the party's social media platforms, forcing Azimio's leadership to intervene.

Raila, who is expected to come back from a trip abroad, is said to have reached out to ODM officials in a bid to extinguish the flames engulfing the Suna East MP.

"Some of them have vowed to walk out if Junet is handed any seat," the source said. "Anyone but Junet."

We could not reach Junet on phone to get his comments.

Wandayi Wednesday, September 14, said he was in the race to be Majority Leader, a task he described as "humbling."

"I think I can serve my party, my coalition and my country better if I get the chance," Wandayi said, arguing that Azimio is the majority coalition owing to number of MPs it secured in the August 9 polls.

Speaker Moses Wetang'ula. [File, Standard]

In the Senate, Homa Bay Senator Moses Kajwang' is seeking to be minority leader, with Vihiga Senator Godfrey Osotsi angling to deputise him.

Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna is considered a favourite to land the Minority Whip position, with Raila's brother Oburu Oginga seeking to be nominated to the Parliamentary Service Commission.

Makueni Senator Dan Maanzo, who described tomorrow's meeting as one meant to review the election, said Kalonzo Musyoka's Wiper party would wait for determination of which side was the majority before expressing interest on the leadership positions.

"We will go to court if the wrong decision is made," Maanzo said. "But this debate will pose serious concerns. Azimio will be making decisions for Ruto because it is the majority that moves business in the House. The minority cannot move business."

The race for the position of Majority Whip has also attracted attention from MPs Emmanuel Wangwe (Navakholo), Sabina Chege (Nominated) and Kakamega Woman representative Elsie Muhanda.