Wamatangi floors Wa Jungle, Nyoro, Kabogo and Kuria to win Kiambu governor seat

Kiambu governor-elect Kimani Wamatangi. [David Njaaga, Standard]

Outgoing Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi has won the August 9, 2022 Kiambu gubernatorial election.

Wamatangi, who ran on the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket, got 348,371 votes to be declared the winner of the race that attracted political big names.

The incumbent governor James Nyoro, who contested on Jubilee Party ticket, polled 99,562 votes to take the fourth position after Wamatangi (first), independent candidate Patrick Wainaina Wa Jungle (second with 237,361 votes), and Tujibebe Wakenya Party candidate William Kabogo (third with 106,980 votes).

The first runner-up, Wa Jungle, is the current MP for Thika Town, while Kabogo served as the first governor of Kiambu County between 2013 and 2017.

Moses Kuria, the outgoing Gatundu South MP, came a distant fifth with 24,512 votes. He ran on his Chama Cha Kazi ticket.

Mwende Gatabaki of Safina Party came sixth with 4,674 votes, while independent candidate Agnes Ndungu came sixth with 1,264 votes.

Karungo wa Thangwa shines

In the senatorial contest, former Ngewa MCA Karungo wa Thangwa was declared the winner with 579,411 votes. He ran on UDA ticket.

Jubilee Party’s George Maara came second in the senatorial race with 112,304 votes.

Chama Cha Kazi’s Machel Waikenda came third with 38,534 votes.

Alice Gathekia of Tujibebe Wakenya Party polled fourth in the senatorial contest with 33,953 votes.

Others in the race were independent candidate John Mugwe (29,697 votes) and Safina Party’s George Njoroge (7,566 votes).

Wa Muratha it is for Woman Rep

In the Woman Representative race, Anne wa Muratha of UDA was declared the winner with 405,492 votes.

Television producer Mercy Nungari of the Tujibebe Wakenya Party took the first runner-up position with 212,115 votes.

Gospel musician Loise Kim, who ran on independent ticket, got 88,086 votes to finish third.

Jubilee Party’s Gladys Chania came fourth with 45,441 votes, followed by Lydia Njeri of ODM (25,597 votes). Nominated MCA in Kiambu County Njeri Bakari of Chama Cha Kazi got 15,673 to take the sixth position.

Independent candidate Mary Kirika polled 14,644 votes to rank seventh. Her fellow independent candidate, Lenah Koinange, was eighth with 10,643 votes.

Hellen Wagaki Wachiuri of Usawa Kwa Wote Party got 2,882 votes to round out the Kiambu woman representative race.