Rugby: Kabras Sugar to renew rivalry with KCB at Kakamega Sevens

Kabras Sugar's Eugene Sifuna (left) in action against KCB in a Kenya Cup match played at Nandi Bears Club In Nandi on Saturday.[Washington Onyango,Standard]

Kabras Sugar will renew their rivalry with KCB when the curtains fall on the 2022 National Sevens Circuit with the sixth and final round, the Kakamega 7s which will takes place at The Bullring on Saturday.

The duo who will look to continue with their Kenya Cup rivalry in the sevens competition headline Group D which also consist of Impala Saracens and Daystar University.

The sugar millers have met thrice against the bankers in the previous legs losing two and drawing one.

Current circuit leaders Menengai Oilers, fresh from winning the Prinsloo 7s last weekend in Nakuru are seeded first in Kakamega and play out of Group A alongside Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology , Nondescripts and Vihiga Granites.

Strathmore Leos, losing finalists last weekend in Nakuru, headline Group B and will face Mwamba, Catholic Monks and Kisumu.

Homeboyz are top seeds in Group C where they will face opposition from Kenya Harlequin, hosts Western Bulls and Nakuru.

Kakamega Sevens
Division 1
Group A: Menengai Oilers, Masinde Muliro, Nondescripts, Vihiga Granites
Group B: Strathmore Leos, Mwamba, Catholic Monks, Kisumu
Group C: Homeboyz, Kenya Harlequin, Western Bulls, Nakuru
Group D: KCB, Kabras, Impala, Daystar Falcons

Division 2
Group A: Blak Blad, Tigers, Cooperative University, Shamberere
Group B: Makueni, Eldoret, CITAM Kisumu, Webuye
Group C: Administration Police Warriors, Sigalagala, Molo, Moi University
Group D: South Coast Pirates, Northern Suburbs, KCAA Stormers, University of Eldoret
Group E: Kabarak University, KCA University, Borderrucks Busia, Mbale
Group F: USIU Martials, Stallions, Egerton Wasps, Kibabii