JSC appoints new Political Parties Disputes Tribunal boss

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) has named a new head of the tribunal charged with solving political parties’ disputes.

The Political Parties Disputes Tribunal will now be chaired by Desma Nungo.

Chief Justice David Maraga, the JSC chairman, appointed Ms Nungo to chair the tribunal for six years after Kyalo Mbobu’s term came to an end on November 19.

Other tribunal members are Hassan Abdi, James Atemi, Adelide Mbithi, Milly Lwanga Odongo and Paul Ngotho.

SEE ALSO :Let us talk about future role of Judiciary in the face of hostility

Nungo’s first test as chairperson is how to handle disputes that may arise from party elections scheduled for next year.

ODM and Jubilee Party plan to go to the polls next year in a bid to inject new blood in their respective leadership ahead of the 2022 general elections.

A few weeks ago, ODM party leader Raila Odinga said the elections will strengthen the party by giving members a chance to elect leaders of their choice.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.  

The tribunal handled 540 nomination disputes ahead of the 2017 general election, a number Mbobu said forced them to work longer hours. In 2017, the tribunal comprised seven members and had two separate benches of three with a sub-registry located at the Milimani law Courts in Nairobi.

Most of these disputes were based on party nominations.

SEE ALSO :Year of mixed fortunes for the Judiciary

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
Judicial Service Commissionpolitical parties’ disputesJSC