Nyong’o nominates 14 chief officers for departments

Kisumu County Governor Anyang' Nyong'o while addressing the press at his office. [Collins Oduor/Standard]
Governor Anyang’ Nyong’o has nominated 14 chief officers barely two weeks since sending home three ministers and redeployed others in a mini-reshuffle.

In a press release sent to newsrooms by the county’s Communications Director Aloyce Ager, the governor said his list had since been forwarded to the County Assembly for vetting.

The nominated officials are Paul Abuto, Rosemary Akinyi, Zacheus Okoth, Agwar Yanzar, Penina Akiyi, Haggai Kadiri, Joseph Omulo, Daniel Otieno, George Arwa and Geofrey Ochieng’.

Others are Daniel Ochieng’, Imelda Monica, Joseph Arung and Alphonse Ouya.

Should the County Assembly approve the list, the officers will serve in eight departments.

“The remaining positions shall duly be re-advertised by the Public Service Board in accordance with their mandate,” said Prof Nyong’o (right).

Since he came into office, Nyong’o has struggled to get rid of chief officers who served during former Governor Jack Ranguma’s tenure, with his attempts to replace them ending up in court.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.  

In the last three months, however, the governor has made a number of changes to key positions in his administration, including the appointment of a new county secretary.

About two weeks ago, Nyong’o sacked executives Alice Moraa (Energy and Industrialisation), Richard Ogendo (Business, Cooperatives and Marketing) and Thomas Ondijo (Roads, Transport and Public Works).

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
Kisumu Governor Anyang Nyong'oKisumu County Assembly reshuffle