MCAs reject Governor Obado’s public service nominees

Migori County Governor Okoth Obado. [File, Standard]
The Migori County Assembly has rejected Governor Okoth Obado's nominees to the County Public Service Board.

County Assembly Labour and Social Welfare Committee Chairman Christopher Onanda said they vetted the six nominees on July 12, but when they tabled the names in the House, members unanimously rejected them.

“The members said there was no regional balance and diversity in profession," said Onanda.

This now sends the governor back to the drawing board to fill a vacuum left by the board members whose term expired on July 25.

SEE ALSO :Obado urges State to deploy security in Migingo Island for census

Members of the Luhya community living in Migori had moved to court on June 7 to stop the appointments.

Alfred Mudeizi and Okello Kiboko, who are among the petitioners, said the community moved to court after their requests to have a dialogue with Governor Obado were ignored.

On the list, former Awendo MP Jared Kopiyo was named as the chairperson to take over from Peterlis Nyatuga who also hails from Awendo.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.

Other nominees include Kennedy Ochieng Makasembo, Omwa Hesbon Otieno, Jemima Adhiambo Were, Enock Odhiambo Ochieng and Mwita Range Maroa.

We are undertaking a survey to help us improve our content for you. This will only take 1 minute of your time, please give us your feedback by clicking HERE. All responses will be confidential.

Migori CountyOkoth ObadoCounty Public Service Board