Americans to acquire visas when traveling to five European countries beginning 2021

Americans traveling to Europe will have to require new type of visa as from 2021, after a diplomatic dispute pitting US and five European countries.

Reports from British media outlet, Daily Mail, reveals that the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) will issue visas to American travelers who have the interest to tour European Schengen Area.

A report published by the European Union indicates that decision has been reached after US failed to accord same privileges it gives to 23 EU nations to citizens from Bulgaria, Croatia, Poland, Romania and Cyprus.

It further asserts that the US was at logger heads with European Parliament and European Commission over the same issue. President Trump administration failed to heed to the call of visa reciprocity when he took office in 2016, forcing the decision to be made.

SEE ALSO :African Americans underserved by U.S. banks: study

However, at the moment, the US nationals can travel to the area for 90 days without restrictions. European Union has termed the move a way of enhancing security in the region.

We are undertaking a survey to help us improve our content for you. This will only take 1 minute of your time, please give us your feedback by clicking HERE. All responses will be confidential.

Americans2021European countriesETIASPresident Trump