Surprise as partyless newbies give Jubilee run for its money
How Uhuru Kenyatta won the election
You are here  » Home   » Politics

IEBC gazettes President Uhuru’s re-election

By Standard Reporter | Published Sat, August 12th 2017 at 12:18, Updated August 12th 2017 at 16:47 GMT +3

President Uhuru Kenyatta (L) and his deputy William Ruto (R) shortly after being declared winner in 2017 presidential race.

ALSO READ: How IEBC delivered the final verdict

NAIROBI, KENYA: Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati has formally gazetted the re-election President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto.

The announcement now paves way for the swearing in of the duo.

“In exercise of the powers conferred to the commission, the Chairperson declares that Uhuru Kenyatta and William Ruto have been duly elected during election period on 8.8.2017,” reads part of the notice.

Uhuru got 8,203,290 votes (54.27 percent) against Raila Odinga’s 6,762,224 votes (44.74 percent). Uhuru met the 50+1 threshold of the total votes cast and at least 25 percent of votes in 24 counties.

The 2017 General Election had a voter turnout of 79.17 percent.

The other six presidential candidates got a combined percentage vote of 0.97 percent. Uhuru got over 25 percent of votes in 35 counties while Raila got 25 percent in 29 counties.



latest News


Trending Now


KTN News Live Stream