Uhuru cuts cabinet from 44 to 18 ministries

By Cyrus Ombati and PPS

Nairobi, Kenya: President Uhuru Kenyatta on Thursday unveiled structure of his new Cabinet made of 18 ministries but the list did not include names of Cabinet Secretaries.

President Kenyatta officially released the list of ministries and state departments that will form the National Executive.

In the new structure, President Kenyatta collapsed the ministries from 44 to 18, a move aimed towards achieving a lean, efficient and effective executive branch of Government.

Under the Presidency, there will the Executive Office of the President and the Executive Office of the Deputy President with two ministries namely the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government and Ministry of Devolution and Planning.

Other ministries under the new structure are Defence, Foreign Affairs and Education which will have the Department of Education and Department of Science and Technology.

SEE ALSO :CBC will exacerbate economic inequality and burden parents

The new structure also includes the ministries of The National Treasury, Health, Transport and Infrastructure which will have the Department of Transport Services and the Department of Infrastructure.

The ministries of Environment, Water and Natural Resource, Land, Housing and Urban Development Information, Communication and Technology (ICT) are also included in the new structure.

Other ministries are Sports, Culture and the Art, Labour, Social Security and Services, Energy and Petroleum.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.

Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries are now in one ministry and will be under the Department of
Agriculture, Department of Livestock and Department of Fisheries

The remaining ministries are Industrialization and Enterprise Development, Commerce and Tourism and

SEE ALSO :State focuses on more pyrethrum farming

The new structure of the Jubilee Government also contains the Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice.

In the structure, the President has given special focus to the youth, gender, devolution, planning as well as national cohesion and integration which have all been brought under the Presidency.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Ministry Uhuru cabinet