List of Kenya plane crash victims

Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka has confirmed six people including two pilots perished in the police chopper crash tragedy in Ngong Nairobi.

The pilots were identified as Captain Nancy Gituanja and Captain Luke Oyugi.

Internal Security minister Professor George Saitoti and his assistant minister Joshua Orwa Ojodeh, their bodyguards identified as  inspector Joshua Tonkei and  sergeant Thomas Murimi all died in the accident. There was no survivor in the 8.30am crash.

The bodies of the deceased have moved to the Lee Funeral Home.

Speaker Kenneth Marende was among the first leaders who rushed to the scene of crash moments after the news of the accident broke.

As details emerged leaders including  Prime Minister Raila Odinga cancelled his planned rally in Nakuru and flew back to Nairobi to the scene of the accident to join in mourning one Kenya's worst tragedies.

Deputy Prime minister Musalia Mudavadi similarly called off his  Sunday functions to join the country in mourning the fallen leaders and police officers.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.  

Nyatike MP  Omondi Anyanga who resides in Karen said residents of the area were forced out of their houses as the chopper flew very low just over the roof tops and the sound it produced was a sure way that the aircraft had technical challenges.

“I was forced to come out of the house  to see what was happening because it was flying very low and moments later I heard the sad news of the crash, “ Anyanga said at the scene.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
SaitotiOjodeh:Plane crash:tragedy