Your are here  » Home   » Athletics

Rotich stars in Kisumu: Kiprono secures victory in the men’s marathon race in the lake side city

- Phillip Orwa

Updated Monday, December 16th 2013 at 00:00 GMT +3

By Phillip Orwa

Athletes compete in yesterday’s Safaricom Kisumu marathon. Nancy Joan Rotich and Boaz Kiprono won in the women’s and men’s races respectively. [PHOTO: COLLINS ODUOR/STANDARD]

Nancy Joan Rotich and Boaz Kiprono are the new winners of the Safaricom Kisumu Marathon, which was held yesterday along the lakeside city streets.

Rotich, 25, and Kiprono, 26, braved stiff challenges from their opponents to stake claim to the crowns. Rotich clocked 2:42:34 while Kioprono took just 2:18:08 to claim the victory and pocketed the Sh200, 000 prize money.

Rotich, who also won the Venlo Half Marathon in 2011 in 1:12:42 and this year’s Munster marathon (2:33:56), expressed her joy for her feat in Kisumu Marathon, which has grown in stature owing to the fast times and deep field of elite runners.

“It was my first time taking part in the Kisumu Marathon. The Kisumu weather was very humid but I stayed close with the men that gave me the inspiration to push for the win. They were like my pace setters,” said Rotich, who had her coach Gerard Van De Veen from Netherlands by her side.

On the other hand Kiprono, who won the race in presence of his home Governor Jackson Mandago, said he was happy with the achievement.

Running history

“I have previously participated in Ndalat Cross Country and finished seventh. I also took part in the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon and emerged in position 25 in 2011. This was my debut show in Kisumu and I am happy my Governor was here to witness my win,” said Kiprono.

He was followed in the second position by Samson Kibor also from Usain Gishu who was timed at 2:18:32 while in the third position was Emmanuel Tirop clocking 2:18:40. Peter Kibet came in fourth after clocking 2:20:19 while in the fifth position was Julius Rugut, who took 2:21:15, to clear the 42.2 km race.

In the women’s race, Rotich clocked 2:42:34 to edge out her closest rival Irene Mogaka from Kisii County (2:45:37) to second place followed by Peres Chepchirchir who was timed at 2:47:33. Janet Cheruto and Rosaline David clocked 2:48:07 and 2:48:07 respectively for the fourth and fifth positions.

Six kilometres

 In the six-kilometre race Joseph Okello clocked 21:20.0 to win ahead of Benson Onyango, who timed 21:21.1 and Andrew Otieno who timed 22:03.6.

GO TO PAGE 1 2 Next »

Next Story »

More Stories
See More »

  • Kimetto’s rise from PEASANT to world beater in Berlin streets

    Less than three years ago, Dennis Kimetto, was a peasant farmer struggling to make ends meet by cultivating and selling maize and potatoes at the local market of the remote Kapng’etuny village deep in the vast Kenyan Rift Valley.
    Read More »
  • Kenya’s newly crowned Berlin Marathon champion Kimetto close to wrapping up World Marathon Majors jackpot

    Kenya’s newly crowned Berlin Marathon champion Dennis Kimetto wrote his name in history when he set a new world record mark of 2:02.57 on Sunday.
    Read More »
  • Happy for victory: Kipsang lauds Kimetto for breaking his world record in Berlin

    Former world marathon record holder Wilson Kipsang of Kenya watched the entire race as his compatriot Dennis Kimetto shed 26 seconds off his mark to set a higher bar in winning Sunday’s Berlin Marathon.
    Read More »
  • Bahrain's Kenya-born runner Ruth Jebet regains gold after being disqualified

    Teenage steeplechaser Ruth Jebet had her Asian Games gold medal restored on appeal Sunday as dominant China passed 100 wins with a week's competition still to go.
    Read More »
  • ON TOP OF THE WORLD: Kenyan Kimetto smashes marathon record in Berlin

    Kenya's Dennis Kimetto smashed the marathon world record in Berlin on Sunday, winning the race in a time of two hours, two minutes and 57 seconds after setting a scintillating pace from the start to shave 26 seconds off the previous best.
    Read More »
  • The mobile money revolution

    ks have also made interest in taking up a license to operate a telecol just to make sure that Mobile money is well protected and to protect their
    Read More »
  • Dope-ban Qatar's Ogunode smashes Asia's 100m record

    Qatar's Femi Ogunode made a victorious return from a doping ban Sunday as he smashed Asia's 100 metres record and snatched Asian Games gold with 9.93sec in wet conditions.
    Read More »
  • The rise of Jihadist ideology in Africa

    y of African states, bedevilled by systemic and structural weakness, remain particularly imperilled. Increasingly, the jihadists have found means and ways to survive, as they cleverly exploit the vulnerable youthful generations by recruiting them and opening up centres for radicalisation where training is offered. They have shown that they can challenge any African states monopoly in politics and governance by creating violence in many states. The North, especially in Libya, Jihadist affiliated to Al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM), this group has grown a clear indicator of hallmarks of a creation of country failing to curb the jihadist ideology. Over the past two years since the overthrowing of the Gadhafi regime, the group has evolved and taken control of huge quantities of lethal weaponry, some of which end up in the hands of militants and insurgents in the Sahara and West Africa
    Read More »
  • The Kenyan Dream

    Countries that have suffered civil war will concur with me that it did not just start overnight and people started slashing each other, no, people don’t just become vicious suddenly, something has to simmer up first. Rwanda today speaks in one voice saying, “never again”. The 1994 genocide left many physically, mentally, and emotionally wounded. Various events preceded the mass killing even before the country attained independence, the Belgium present by then, favored the Tutsi creating a legacy of tension that will explode into violence years later. Prior to the real action of mass homicide, planning, budgeting, recruitment and incitement to the desperate youth was done significantly. Someone was directly or indirectly involved in financing and inciting. Someone campaigned for action against another community, eventually resulting into an ethically motivated violence that became full blow humanitarian crisis. The actual perpetrators were not just mere villagers, nor o
    Read More »
  • Kipchoge not targeting Bekele in Chicago: Former world 5,000m champion says his main aim is just to win

    Clear your diaries for October 12! The ‘anointed’ Sunday is the date when one of the most enduring rivalries in athletics will once again take centre stage for a potentially gripping chapter when Chicago hosts her famous city marathon.
    Read More »

Find us on Social Media

Popular Sports

Popular News

Sports Videos