Former President's sure bet, to beat Jubilee as 20 counties near getting new governors

IEBC is yet to make final declarations on the election results as at now but several Counties seem to be on the verge of getting new bosses if the provisional results are anything to go by.

Here are the counties where incumbents are on an anticipated ouster even though some have disputed the poll outcome.

1. Laikipia County

Former President Mwai Kibaki's nephew Nderitu Muriithi is likely to be the new Laikipia Governor with currently 100109 votes in 530 of 531 polling stations as an independent candidate defeating Jubilee Parties incumbent Joshua Irungu who has 98,233 votes.

In April this year, the former president is said to have endorsed Mr Muriithi. 

2. West Pokot County

John Lonyangapuo is nearing clinching the seat from the incumbent Simon Kachapin. Provisional results showed that KANU's John Lonyangapuo has 82,760 votes against Kachapin's 59,928 votes on a Jubilee Party ticket with 100 polling stations pending to the final tally.

3. Nairobi County

ODM Party's Evans Kidero has protested the results in which Mike Mbuvi Sonko of Jubilee Party polled 831,335 votes against Kidero 665,531 votes 

4. Meru County

In Meru, the former Council of Governors' chairman Peter Munya also declined accepting the results but Kiraitu Murungi leads with 275,529 votes on a Jubilee ticket. Peter Munya has 225,450 at a time 38 poling station pend on the tally.

5. Bomet County

The county will make it to history as being among those to be headed by a female Governor as Jubilee party's Joyce Laboso appears clearly having floored the former COG chairman Isaac Ruto with her 175,932 votes against Ruto's 85 863 votes from 724 of the 728 polling centers.

6. Vihiga County

 In Vihiga, about 33 polling stations are yet to be added to the final tally but Wilber Otichilo is commanding the race with 79,237 votes on an ODM ticket while the incumbent Moses Akaranga has 61,276 votes on PPOK party

7. Tharaka Nithi County

Onesmus Njuki could carry the day given the provisional results show he has 112,248 votes, a Jubilee candidate now unseating Narc Kenya’s Samwel Ragwa who managed 47,435 votes with 39 stations pending.

8. Taita Taveta County

Former Journalist Granton Graham Samboja of Wiper party has proved nearing the crowning as governor 38,770 votes and the incumbent John Mtuta Mruttu has every reason to worry with his 23,094 votes in 337 out of 354 polling stations.

9. Nyeri County

Samwel Wamathai took over as governor after the death of Nyeri Governor Nderitu Gachagua in February this year. Wamathai has managed 86316 votes and Jubilee’s Wahome Gakuru with 280,037 votes is set to take over the governor’s seat.

Results from 16 more polling stations to be included in the tally.

 10. Nyandarua County

The county could be under Former Secretary to the Cabinet Francis Kimemia of Jubilee party who has 220,903 votes on a Jubilee ticket unseating Daniel Waithaka Mwangi 12,855 votes in the third place as an independent candidate. Results from 21 polling stations are yet to be uploaded to the tally.

11. Bungoma County

Wycliffe Wangamati leads with 194,682 votes (Ford Kenya), incumbent Kenneth Lusaka has 173,469 votes (Jubilee) 

12. Isiolo County

 Though going for the votes as independent, Mr Mohamed Kuti is in the lead with 20,054 votes as the incumbent Godana Doyo trails with 13 406 votes 

More counties to follow..