× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Ndungu beats Master Omar at IDPA Championships

Standard Group CEO Orlando Lyomu (left) receives recognition award from NGAO chairman Martin Chengo at Kirigiti Shooting Range. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

Sunday, September 5, 2021, marked the final day of the International Defensive Pistol Association (IDPA) African Championships in Nairobi.

Around 150 participants took part in the Tier 4 match that had 212 registered local and International shooters.

Master Ibrahim Ndung’u emerged as the winner in the Stock Service Pistol (SSP) category followed by a new Master Thomas Kiilu who came in second while seasoned Master Mohammed Omar (SSP) settled for the third position.

In the Enhanced Service Pistol (ESP) category, Master Sammy Onyango was the winner followed by Master Eric Wachira and Master Samuel Chacha of the disciplined forces respectively.

Ibrahim Ndungu in action at Kirigiti, Kiambu. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

Standard Group CEO Orlando Lyomu finished second in the CCP Marksman Class behind Muzahim Taib as Robert Kibutiri was ranked third.

Daniel Mutiso beat Wilson Kabugi and Memba Muriuki to win the SSP Expert category as Anthony Wahome was declared the winner in the ESP Expert category followed by Mike Kiptanui and Mohammed Aden.

Geoffrey Pesa in action at Kirigiti shooting range. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

Tony Karanja carried the day in the Carry-optics (CO) Expert category followed by Sunny Syan. CO sharpshooter was won by Gerard Edo.

In the ESP Sharpshooter category, the trophy went to John Narumbe with international shooter Boris Zelinsy and Mohammed Noor Ahmed finishing second and third respectively.

Marksman Pravir Vohar in action at Kirigiti, Kiambu County. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

CCP Sharpshooter was won by Peter Njoroge followed by Omar Moosa and Gikonyo Mwangi.

Meanwhile, four local marksmen and two sharpshooters were promoted to experts and sharpshooters respectively. 

Share this story
Harambee Stars held by Rwanda in World Cup Qualifiers
Harambee Stars were held to a 1-1 draw by Rwanda in the Group "E" 2022 World Cup qualifier match played at Nyamirambo Stadium in Kigali on Sunday.
Here’s how much Paralympic athletes from Kenya and other countries earn for winning medals
Olympians traditionally earn a generous monetary reward from their home nations after winning gold, silver or bronze medals at the Olympics.