Kenya Simbas renew rivalry with Uganda Cranes in Victoria Cup

Kenya Simbas captain George Nyambua (right) during the captians shot.[Uganda Rugby Union]

Reinhard Mwalati, Wilhite Mususi and Walter Okoth are the three changes for the Simbas ahead of their Victoria Cup title decider against hosts Uganda at the King's Park Arena in Bweyogerere, Kampala on Sunday.

This is the first time the two sides are facing off since the quarter-finals of the 2023 Rugby World Cup Africa qualifier played in July last year in France where Kenya mauled Uganda 42-7.

Mwalati and Okoth make their test debuts in this fixture.

Mwalati, part of the Kenya U20 squad that won the 2021 Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy slots into the openside flank on his test debut, starting ahead of Elkeans Musonye in a backrow that sees skipper George Nyambua at blindside with Jeanson Misoga at number eight.

Mususi, another former Kenya U20 international starts at tighthead ahead of Hillary Mwanjilwa in a front row that also features Ephraim Oduor and Teddy Akala as Hibrahim Ayoo and Hillary Odhiambo complete the second row pairing

Walter Okoth slots into the inside center position, part of a midfield pairing that also features Bryceson Adaka.

Alfred Orege, Joel Inzuga and Jone Kubu round off the back three as Barry Young and Brian Wahinya are retained as the half back pairing.

Andrew Matoka misses out on the match day squad after sustaining a knock in training while Derrick Ashiundu is rested.

With champions Zimbabwe missing out this year owing to financial constraints, Kenya, the champions of inaugural edition held in 2010, lead the charge this year with five points.

This is after they thrashed Zambia 36-12 on Wednesday.

Uganda defeated Kenya 16-13 the last time the two sides met in Kisumu in 2019 before Simbas returned the favor by picking a 16-5 win in Kampala.

Simbas v Uganda 15. Jone Kubu, 14. Joel Inzuga, 13. Bryceson Adaka, 12. Walter Okoth, 11. Alfred Orege, 10. Brian Wahinya, 9. Barry Young, 1. Ephraim Oduor, 2. Teddy Akala,3. Wilhite Mususi, 4. Hibrahim Ayoo, 5. Hillary Odhiambo, 6. George Nyambua (Captain), 7. Reinhard Mwalati, 8. Jeanson Misoga

REPLACEMENTS 16. Emmanuel Otieno, 17. Thomas Okidia, 18. Hillary Mwanjilwa, 19. Brian Ndirangu, 20. Peter Waitere, 21. Elkeans Musonye, 22. Dan Ang'wech, 23. Paul Mutsami

Kenyans eye glory in Oslo Diamond League meet
By AFP 10 hrs ago
On-form Sancho eyes Wembley redemption with Dortmund
By Ben Ahenda 11 hrs ago
Cricket Kenya targets schools for growth of the game
By AFP 12 hrs ago
Laporta gambles on Flick to restore Barcelona's lustre