Odera makes 12 changes as Kenya face Portugal in crunch Repechage tie

Kenya Simbas and United States players in action during their RWC 2023 Final Qualifying Tournament match at The Sevens Stadium on November 06, 2022 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. [World Rugby]

Simbas head coach Paul Odera has made a total of twelve changes as the Simbas take on Portugal in their second clash at the 2023 Rugby World Cup Final Qualification Tournament in Dubai, United Arab Emirates on Saturday from 3pm local time.

Amon Wamalwa,21, will debut for Simbas at fly half while 19-year-old Joshua Weru who came off the bench for a try scoring debut in last Sunday’s loss to the USA will make his first full start for the Simbas at number eight in place of Bethuel Anami who is rested for this fixture.

The duo are among eight changes to the side that started Sunday’s opener against the USA, the others being Edward Mwaura and Teddy Akala in the front row, Brian Juma at lock, Martin Owilah in the back row, Brian Tanga at scrum half, Beldad Ogeta and Timothy Omela on the wings.

Samuel Asati moves from scrum half to fullback in one of two positional changes, the other seeing Thomas Okeyo shifted from lock to blindside flank. 

Malcolm Onsando captains the side in the absence of Daniel Sikuta who is also rested for this fixture after suffering a concussion in the opening fixture.  

Peter Kilonzo, potential debutant Clinton Odhiambo, Samson Onsomu and Ian Masheti are introduced to the match day squad for the first time in this tournament and will start from the bench alongside Eugene Sifuna, Andrew Siminyu, George Nyambua and Geoffrey Okwatch who all featured on Sunday. 

Kenya Simbas squad
15. Samuel Asati, 14. Timothy Omela, 13. Bryceson Adaka, 12. John Okoth, 11. Beldad Ogeta, 10. Amon Wamalwa (debut), 9. Brian Tanga, 1. Edward Mwaura, 2. Teddy Akala, 3. Ephraim Oduor, 4. Malcolm Onsando (captain), 5. Brian Juma, 6. Thomas Okeyo, 7. Martin Owilah, 8. Joshua Weru

REPLACEMENTS 16. Eugene Sifuna, 17. Andrew Siminyu, 18. Ian Masheti, 19. Clinton Odhiambo (debut), 20. George Nyambua, 21. Samson Onsomu, 22. Peter Kilonzo, 23. Geoffrey Okwatch 

RESTED: Patrick Ouko, Bethuel Anami, Daniel Sikuta, Darwin Mukidza, Jacob Ojee, Geoffrey Ominde, Joseph Odero, Brian Waraba

St Mary's Yala, Maseno School and Kisii School win county rugby titles
St Mary's Yala keen to retain rugby title at Siaya County games
Kenya Cup champions Kabras Sugar appreciates nature by planting trees
Oluoch and Olindi return ahead of Shujaa trip to Hong Kong