× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

KCB captain Lilako out ahead of Kenya Cup semis against Oilers

RUGBY By Washington Onyango | August 28th 2021
KCB captain Curtis Lilako (right) leads his team out to the pitch at KCB Sports Club in a past Kenya Cup match.[Courtesy]

KCB Rugby will be missing the services of captain Curtis Lilako ahead of their Kenya Cup semifinals match against Menengai Oiler on Saturday at KCB Sports Club.

Captain Lilako and back row Francis Mwita are absent in the matchday squad as KCB head coach Curtis Olago looks to qualify for his fourth consecutive Kenya Cup final.

In the first team released by the club, Patrick Ouko hold in place of Lilako at tight head prop as Oscar Simiyu and Griffin Musila man the front row.

Darwin Mukidza will start at fullback as Isaac Njoroge and Jacob Ojee stay on the wings.

Kenya Sevens duo Levy Amunga and Vincent Onyala will be at the midfield as Samuel Asati and Johnstone Olindi hold the scrum half and fly half positions.

Rocky , Steve Wamai and Andrew Amonde together with Nick Ongeri and Oliver Mang’eni are the other players starting for the defending champions.

Meanwhile, Oilers coach Gibson Weru made only one change to the starting squad that faced Nondies last weekend as Francis Atiti comes in for Edward Mwaura who starts on the bench.

KCB Rugby: 1. Oscar Simiyu 2. Griffin Musila 3. Patrick Ouko 4. Nick Ongeri 5. Oliver Mang’eni 6. Steve Wamai 7. Andrew Amonde 8. Rocky Aguko 9. Samuel Asati 10. Johnstone Olindi 11. Jacob Ojee 12. Levy Amunga 13. Vincent Onyala 14. Isaac Njoroge 15. Darwin Mukidza

Replacements: 16. James Ochieng 17. George Gichure 18. Nelson Nyandat 19. Brian Munyali 20. Felix Ojoo 21. Michael Wanjala 22. Shaban Ahmed 23. Esau Otieno

Menengai Oilers: 1. Dalmus Chituyi 2. Kelvin Mukoyani 3. Francis Atiti 4. Clinton Odhiambo 5. Brian Ndirangu 6. Tyson Maina 7. Chrispine shitundo- cc 8. Samuel Were 9. Amos Onyinkwa 10. Davis Nyaundi 11. Timothy Okwemba 12. Harold Ojango -cc 13. Austin Sikutwa 14. Roy Nandwa 15. Derrick Keyoga

Replacements; Hillary Malweyi 17. Edward Mwaura 18. Steve Ochieng 19. Andrew Wangila 20. Edwin Abungan 21. Andrew Odero 22. Geoffrey Ominde 23. Beldad Ogeta

Share this story
Standard FC ready for action
Standard Group FC is among the 13 teams that will feature in today’s 7-aside corporates football tournament at Two Rivers Sports Districts.
Rugby: Sikuta to lead Kabras Sugar against Strathmore Leos
Kabras Sugar head coach Dominique Habimana has made five changes ahead of their Kenya Cup semifinal match against Strathmore Leos to be played on Satu