× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Rugby: Lilako out as wounded KCB looks to respond against Impala

RUGBY By Washington Onyango | August 13th 2021
Samuel Were (right) of Menengai Oilers battles for the ball with Peter Kilonzo (center) and Jacob Ojee (left) of KCB during the Kenya cup match at Nakuru ASK Show ground on November 16,2019.Photo:Kipsang Joseph/Standard

KCB Rugby will be missing the services of captain Curtis Lilako ahead of their Kenya Cup match against Impala on Saturday.

Captain Lilako and back row Francis Mwita are absent in the match day squad as KCB head coach Curtis Olago looks for an immediate response after their loss to Kabras Sugar last weekend.

In the first team released by the club, Patrick Ouko will replace Lilako at the front row where he will be playing alongside Griffin Musila and Oscar Simiyu.

Steve Wamai will do the same in the case of Mwita and will play alongside Oliver Mang’eni in the second row.

Felix Ojoo and Rocky Aguko will form the back row as immediate Kenya Sevens captain Andrew Amonde retains his position on the flanks.

Samuel Asati and Johnstone Olindi will start at scrum-half and fly half in the place of Michael Wanjala and Smith Muhoya.

Peter Kilonzo and Vincent Onyala, Jacob Ojee, Isaac Njoroge and Darwin Mukidza drops back at fullback and will captain the side are the other players in the team.

Meanwhile, Impala Saracens made eight changes to the starting squad that will face KCB.

Scrum-half Sam Onsomu and fly-half Anthony Odhiambo replace James Mwangi and Johnson Waiganjo as Edmund Anya moves in place of Alvin Marube.

Tony Khadambi Mark Ongayo and Quinto Ongo all return to the starting squad as Hannington Mmbaka and Anderson Oduor drop to the bench.


KCB Rugby: 1.Oscar Simiyu 2. Griffin Musila 3. Patrick Ouko 4.Steve Wamai 5. Oliver Mang’eni 6.Felix Ojoo 7. Andrew Amonde 8. Rocky Aguko 9.Samuel Asati 10. Johnstone Olindi 11. Jacob Ojee 12. Peter Kilonzo 13. Vincent Onyala 14. Isaac Njoroge 15. Darwin Mukidza

Replacements: 16. Wilfred Waswa 17. George Gichure18. Nelson Nyandat 19.Brian Munyali 20. Peter Waitere 21. Michael Wanjala 22. Shaban Ahmed 23. Levy Amunga

Impala Saracens squad: 1.Kelvin Ronoh 2. Kenneth Murangiri 3. Brian Ochieng 4. Davis Makori 5. Billy Arigi 6. Jeremy Griffins 7. Elkeans Musonye – Captain 8. Valentino Cosmas – V.Captain 9. Samson Onsomu 10. Anthony Odhiambo 11. Tony Khadambi 12. Mark Ongayo 13. Israel Soi 14. Edmund Anya 15. Quinto Ongo

Replacements: 16. Evans Omondi 17. Soita Wekesa 18. Tariq Ngige 19. Paul Mutsami 20. Rainer Omondi 21. James Mwangi 22. Hannington Mbaka 23. Anderson Oduor

Share this story
FKF Premier League: Top scorer Kapaito reaches 24 goals as Sharks bounce back
FKF Premier League top scorer Erick Kapito continued with his impressive run of form scoring a brace and providing an assist to take his season tally
Cheruiyot floors London Marathon pacesetter Ng'eno
Elijah Cheruiyot shocked London Marathon pacesetter Ben Ng’eno to win the Eldama Ravine Half Marathon as Sharon Chelimo bagged the women’s title in Ba