Kimemia bags Ndemi title after 18 years of wait

Ndemi Classic Guest winner Joseph Wainaina. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

An 18-year wait ended at the weekend for Mwangi Kimemia after he won the 32nd edition of the Ndemi Classic Golf tournament at the Sigona Golf Club.

He took part in the tournament for the first time in 2006 where he bagged the Best Effort prize.

Kimemia stayed focused throughout the years for a stab at the overall award that he finally did.

Playing off handicap 12, he carded a sterling score of 41 stableford points to star in the daylong meet organised by Ndemi Caucus, a golfers fraternity formed to advance the African interests at the club.

The tournament was presented by Zuri Health, East African Breweries Limited (EABL), CNN Advocates, Ebrahimjee and Mutai Advisory LLP.
Others were Nyumba Cinema and Jahrock Jamaican Restaurant.

While delivering his winner speech, Kimemia said; "It was tough when I played for the first time in the tournament as a novice. My game has come of age. I'm glad that I've eventually won the overall title."

Chasing Kimemia to the podium was the Men winner second, Allan Gacheru, who posted 40 stableford points off handicap 13, while Sameer Nanji settled for third place on 39 stableford points.

Adam Tayabjee won the Gross prize with 73 Gross points.

In Division Two handicap 29, Sameer Chandaria starred on a score of 38 stableford points.

Leading the sponsors was Muaraya Macharia after inking 38 stableford points, while playing off handicap 12.

Nanyuki Sports Club's Joseph Wainaina was the best among visiting golfers as he won the Guest winner prize on a score of 44 stableford points.

The First and Second nine prizes were won by Nilesh Kriplania and Sahib Sethi with 21 and 22 stableford points, respectively.

By AFP 3 hrs ago
Spain v England: Key battles where the Euro final might be won
By Mose Sammy 3 hrs ago
Handicap 18 Wanjama crowned in Limuru
Unique Sports
SCHOOLS: Songs and dance as Highway, Hospital Hill reclaim Nairobi regional titles
SCHOOLS: Ng'iya Girls crowned new Nyanza basketball 3x3 champions