Otieno sums it up to lift Accountants golf title at Ruiru

Machakos Ladies Open Gross winner Mercy Nyanchama. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Out to prove a point on the course, Otieno Otieno returned a solid score of 46 stableford points to claim Accountants golf day tournament overall title over the weekend, at the par-73 Ruiru Sports Club.

Otieno went flat-out on the course with the sole intent of proving the accountants wrong.

Playing off handicap 19, Otieno was in tiptop shape from the onset collecting pars on the par-four first, eighth and ninth hole. He then followed it up with a birdie on the second hole, before bogeying the fourth and fifth holes.

He then had double-bogeys on the third and sixth holes, which saw him rake in 21 stableford points at the midway banda.

Focused and raring to go, Otieno sustained his momentum into the second nine with a bogey on the 10th hole, parred the 11th, 15th and 17th holes. He had bogeys on the 10th, 14th and 18th holes and a double-bogey on the 12th hole.

He diluted some of the bad shots with two more birdies on the 13th and 16th holes where he sunk birdies for an additional 25 stableford points in the annual tournament, now in its sixth year.

The event was organised by accounting golfers in association with IQPlus, Mazaars LLP and Minet Insurance, among others.

“After reading preview of the Accountants golf day and seeing how they were over the moon, I wanted to come and disrupt their calculations on the course. That’s what I did, beat them in their own game,” said Otieno in his speech.

Men winner prize was won by Major Mwaura, playing off handicap 23 with 40 stableford points, ahead of Dixon Waruinge, playing off handicap 14, who settled for Men winner second on a similar score of 40 stableford points.

Handicap 23, Esther Njau was Lady winner on a score of 41 stableford points ahead of Lorna Ian also playing off handicap 23 who came in second with 40 stableford points.

Machakos Ladies Open Gross winner Mercy Nyanchama. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

In the sponsors’ category, the best Accountant was George Kihuria playing off handicap 25 upon returning a score of 37 stableford points followed by handicap 11, Anthony Kimani with 36 stableford points as Grace Miano came settled for Accountant winner third on a score of 36 stableford points.

In the commercials, Club captain, Jessy Ndegwa bagged First nine prize with 21 stableford points while Second nine prize went to Gabriel Wabuti with 22 stableford points.

Best among the guest men players was a handicap 22, Boniface Mureithi on a score of 44 stableford points as Damaris Kikwai topped in the ladies category on a score of 40 stableford points.

Leading the youngsters for the Junior prize was Lucy Wangari on a score of 31 stableford points.

Martin Nyagah playing off handicap 10 was Sponsors guest winner on a score of 38 stablefod points while Anthony Ngugi on 37 stableford points was Category two winner.

Martin Kiambi won the Longest drive men winner prize on the par-five 17th hole with Lorna Ian claiming a double after securing Longest drive ladies prize.

Salome Kamau dialed her tee-shot on the par-three, two and half feet off the pin to claim Nearest to the Pin lady winner prize as Alex Ngugi won Nearest to the pin men prize.

At Railway Golf Club, George Wakaba bounced back from a golf sabbatical winning Bima Golf day title on a score of 39 stableford points ahead of Patrick Karani whio came in second with 38 stableford points for overall second prize.

Alice Mwangi was Lady winner on a score of 33 stableford points as handicap 2, Fidhelis Kimanzi won Gross prize on 75 Gross.

Machakos Ladies Open

Overall winner – Margaret Njoki (Hcp 3) 79 Gross

Division A Gross

Gross winner Mercy Nyanchama (Hcp 1) 80 Gross

Gross winner second – Mwongeli Nzioka (Hcp 10) 83 Gross

Gross winner third – Catherine Wambui – (Hcp 11) 86 Gross

Division A Nett

Nett winner – Sarah Hoare – (Hcp 17) 73 Nett

Nett winner second – Fridah Shiroya (Hcp 17) 75 Nett

Nett winner third – Tabitha Kiragu – (Hcp 18) 75 Nett

Division B Gross

Grioss winner – Jane Kiiti (Hcp 21) 93 Gross

Gross winner second – Joyce Wafula – (Hcp 21) 96 Gross

Gross winner third – Sophie Njuguna (Hcp 24) 97 Gross  

Division B Nett

Nett winner – Mercy Kinyua – (Hcp 26) 72 Nett

Nett winner second – Alice Abere – (Hcp 29) 73 Nett

Nett winner third – Rita Waruinge – (Hcp 28) 73 Nett  

Division C Nett

Nett winner – Faith Muthoni – (Hcp 44) 37 Nett

Nett winner second – Esther Kamau – (Hcp 51) 34 points

Germany wins U17 World Cup final for first time
Baptism of fire as Kabras Sugar thrash Kisumu in Kakamega
Nairobi City Stars upset leaders Posta Rangers
KCB welcome Nondescripts back to Kenya Cup with a drubbing