Mokaya stamps his authority to win at Sea-Link

George Mokaya in action at the Mombasa Golf Club. [Maarufu Mohamed, Standard]

Home Club’s George Mokaya stamped his authority to emerge the overall winner of the 2022 Mark Mbua Memorial Golf tournament, at the Sea-Link par 71 Mombasa Golf and Country Club, on Saturday.

Playing off handicap 18, Mokaya carded 38 stableford points to take the day’s lead and register his first major victory this season.

“Today was my day, even though the course was challenging due to the strong winds from the Indian Ocean and tricky pin positions, I am happy with the win,” said Mokaya.

The day-long tournament was staged in memory of the club’s former captain and General Manager in charge of terminals for logistics at Mitchell Cotts Mark Mbua, who died in April 2020.
Mitchell Cotts sponsored the event that brought together 100 golfers from the club, Nyali, Leisure, Malindi, Vipingo, Friends and Guests of the sponsors with valid handicaps.

Henry Kamau, playing off handicap 1, was the men winner on 37 points, while handicap 19 Justine Ongeri, with a countback score of 39 points, won the runner-up slot after tying on points with third-placed handicap 24 Vincent Muriungi.

The club’s former Lady captain Susan Mwangi, playing off handicap 27, was the Lady winner with 32 points and handicap 30 Petronilah Kalee returned 27 points to settle for the runner-up slot. Senior Coast Lady golfer Jayne Githere, playing off handicap 23, was third with 26 points.

School girl handicap 12 Rasmeet Kaur carded 27 points to lift the junior prize, while handicap 25 Peter Mwangi, on 34 points and Jackeline Mutahi with 23 points, were the Best and handicap winners respectively.

At  the Thika Greens Golf Resort Course, handicap 30 Ann Ngumba carded an excellent 44 points  to emerge the overall winner.

Bajaber beats team of 186 golfers at Nyali Club
By Ben Ahenda 4 days ago
Temba wins Corporate Masters Golf Series at Royal
By Mose Sammy 10 days ago
Golf: Gathogo conquers Mt Kenya championship in style
Kiragu wins inaugural Peace tournament at Railway Club