Vihiga Queens edge champions Thika Queens to solidify top spot

Vihiga Queens ready to take on Kayole Starlets during FKF Women Premier League at Ruaraka grounds. Sept 2021. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Vihiga Queens on Wednesday defeated defending champions Thika Queens 1-0 in a FKF Women’s Premier League match played at the Thika Stadium.

The win saw the three-time Premier League champions increase their points tally to 31.

Janet Moraa scored the winning goal for Vihiga Queens who are now unbeaten in their opening 11 matches. Vihiga have registered 10 wins and a draw.

The defeat saw Thika Queens drop from position three to five with 20 points from six wins, three losses and two draws in the 12-team league.

On the other hand, Ulinzi Starlets' 6-0 win against Kayole Starlets at the Ruaraka grounds.

Ulinzi’s Mercy Mang’uro scored a hattrick, while her teammate Siliya Rasoha secured a brace in the 41st and 64th minutes.

Kayole Starlets' misery was further compounded after they scored an own goal in the 70th minute.

The win saw them move up to third place with six wins, one loss and four draws while Kayole Starlets remain at position 11 with three wins and 10 losses.

The soldiers are on 22 points, same as Thika based side Gaspo Women, who remain in second place after sharing their spoils in a 1-1 draw with Nakuru City Queens. 

In the other matches of the day, Trans Nzoia Falcons beat Kisumu All Starlets 3-1 to move from position five to four with 21 points gained from six wins, two losses and three draws.

Kisumu All Starlets are stuck at position 10 with three wins and nine losses.

Wednesday’s FKF Women’s Premier League Results

Vihiga Queens 1-0 Thika Queens
Gaspo Women 1-1 Nakuru City Queens
Trans Nzoia Falcons 3-1 Kisumu All Starlets
Ulinzi Starlets 6-0 Kayole Starlets


By Reuters 7 hours ago
Petr Cech to leave role as Chelsea's technical and performance adviser
Reports: Arsenal have reached an agreement with Manchester City to sign Gabriel Jesus
Dan Shikanda re-elected AFC Leopards chairman
NSL: Three-horse race for FKF-PL promotion as three walkovers cloud Super League