Kipchoge among 10 nominees for World Athletics' Men's Athlete of the Year award

Image: World Athletics

Two-time Olympic marathon champion Eliud Kipchoge is among the 10 male athletes shortlisted by World Athletics for the Male Athlete of the Year Award.

Kipchoge, who has already won the award twice (2018 and 2019), also made the World Athletics' Men's Athlete of the Year award final list for the 2020 and 2021 awards.

 The 37-year-old is the second Kenyan male athlete to win the award after the 800m world record holder David Rudisha bagged it in 2010. No Kenyan woman has ever won the award.

 Kipchoge confirmed his legendary status this year with his second career marathon world record in Berlin of 2:01:09, which was 30 seconds faster than his 2018 winning time.

His fourth Berlin Marathon title was his second win this year after running the fastest time ever at the Tokyo Marathon.

The remaining nominates are Pedro Pichardo, Noah Lyles, Anderson Peters, Jakob Ingebrigtsen, Grant Holloway, Soufiane El Bakkali, Mondo Duplantis, Alison dos Santos and Kristjan Ceh.

The 10 nominees were announced on Thursday.

The athletes were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of World Athletics.

It has been another memorable year for the sport and the nominations reflect some of the standout performances achieved at the World Athletics Championships Oregon22, World Athletics Indoor Championships Belgrade 22, one-day meeting circuits and other events around the world.

The male and female athlete of the year will be announced by World Athletics in early December.

Voting for the competition is open.

Fans can vote by liking or retweeting the individual graphic of each nominee.

The fan vote accounts for 25 per cent of the points awarded to the winning nominee.

World Athletics Council members will select their favourite athlete and that will count for 50 per cent.

The remaining points will be awarded from votes cast by the World Athletics Family, which is made up of athletes, coaches and officials.

The nominees for 2022 Men’s World Athlete of the Year are:

Eliud Kipchoge, KEN

- Improved his world marathon record to 2:01:09

- Berlin Marathon champion

- Tokyo Marathon champion

Kristjan Ceh, SLO

- World discus champion

- Diamond League discus champion, throwing a national record 71.27m on the circuit in Birmingham

- European discus silver medallist

Alison dos Santos, BRA

- World 400m hurdles champion

- Diamond League 400m hurdles champion

- Ran a world-leading South American record of 46.29

 Mondo Duplantis, SWE

- World pole vault champion indoors and outdoors

- Diamond League and European pole vault champion

- Improved his world record to 6.19m and 6.20m indoors, and then 6.21m outdoors

 Soufiane El Bakkali, MAR

- World 3000m steeplechase champion

- Diamond League 3000m steeplechase champion

- Unbeaten in 2022, running a world-leading 7:58.28 in Rabat

Grant Holloway, USA

- World 110m hurdles champion

- World indoor 60m hurdles champion

- Diamond League 110m hurdles champion

 Jakob Ingebrigtsen, NOR

- World 5000m champion, world 1500m silver medallist indoors and outdoors

- European 1500m and 5000m champion

- Diamond League 1500m champion in a world-leading 3:29.02

Noah Lyles, USA

- World 200m champion

- Diamond League 200m champion

- Ran a world-leading national record of 19.31 to move to third on the world all-time list

  Anderson Peters, GRN

- World javelin champion

- Commonwealth javelin silver medallist

- Threw a world-leading NACAC record of 93.07m, moving to fifth on the world all-time list

  Pedro Pichardo, POR

- World triple jump champion with a world-leading leap of 17.95m

- World indoor triple jump silver medallist

- European triple jump champion

 A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.



By Ochieng Oyugi 13 hours ago
Kyengo, Jepkurgat triumph in Lukenya University marathon
By Ochieng Oyugi Mar. 26, 2023
It's all systems go as Onyancha, Kiprotich headline Lukenya Marathon
Mateelong advises on how to reclaim steeplechase crown
By Ochieng Oyugi Mar. 25, 2023
Ruto ready to leave a mark at Lukenya Marathon on Sunday