Double Olympic champion Kipyegon nominated for World Athlete of the Year Award

Gold medalist Faith Kipyegon, of Kenya, celebrates after the women's 1500-meter run the at the World Athletics Championships on Monday, July 18, 2022, in Eugene, Ore.(AP Photo

Two-time Olympic and World 1,500m champion Faith Kipyegon has been nominated for the 2022 Women’s World Athlete of the Year Award.  

The announcement on Wednesday by World Athletics further revealed that the Diamond League champion is the only Kenyan athlete in the high-competitive nominee list for Women’s World Athlete of the Year.  

At the same time, the voting process for the 2022 World Athletes of the Year ahead of the World Athletics Awards kickstarted with people expected to vote for their favorite athlete via tweeter by retweeting the photo of the athlete posted by the World Athletics official handle.  

Nominations reflect some of the standout performances achieved at the World Athletics Championships held in Oregon, World Athletics Indoor Championships in Belgrade, one-day meeting circuits, and other events around the world.  

Kipyegon will be up against world champions including Nigeria’s Tobi Amusan (100m hurdles), American Chase Ealey (shot put), 2013 Women’s World Athlete of the Year, Jamaicans Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (100m) and Shericka Jackson (200m) and American Sydney McLaughlin (World 400m hurdles and 4x400m).  

Other world champions in the race are the 2020 Women’s World Athlete of the Year, Yulimar Rojas (Triple jump) from Venezuela, Shaunae Miller-Uibo (400m) from Bahamas, and Peru’s Kimberly Garcia (20km race walk).  

Also in contention is the World Indoor and World High Jump silver medallist Yaroslava Mahuchikh from Ukraine.   

The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the World Athletics social media platforms.   

Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube this week; a 'like' on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.  

The World Athletics Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the World Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.  

Voting for the World Athletes of the Year closes at midnight on Monday, October 31.  

The winners will be revealed in December. 

By Stephen Ruto 56 mins ago
Volleyball and Handball
Para volleyball team to report to camp on July 3
Mathare United relegation woes pile up after 10th straight defeat
Unique Sports
Champions KCB kick off 2023 Kenya National Chess League on front foot
Bayern Munich wins record-extending 11th consecutive Bundesliga title