Uhuru to preside over Safari Rally

By Standard Sports: Wednesday, July 3rd 2019 at 00:05 GMT +3 | Sports
President Uhuru Kenyatta flanked by Kenya Motor Sports Federation Chairman JS Vohra flags-off KCB Safari Rally car driven by Baldev Charger during the ceremony KICC Nairobi, on 21-09-2014. [Dennis Okeyo, Standard]

President Uhuru Kenyatta will flag off the 2019 Safari Rally at the Kasarani Stadium on Friday.

State House spokesperson Kanze Dena termed the rally as “special” saying it would grant Kenya an opportunity to return to the World Rally Championships calendar.

“This rally is special because Kenya will be fighting for a chance to have the world rally championship return to the country.”

She urged Kenyans to come out in large numbers and cheer the rally drivers who among them is State House Chief of Staff Nzioka Waita. "Sports is among one of the things that can unite us as Kenyans," she added.

KCB Bank Kenya has committed Sh50 million towards this year’s WRC Safari Rally Candidate event slated for Friday 5th July – Sunday 7th July 2019.

KCB Group Marketing and Communications Director Angela Mwirigi while making the announcement reiterated that the Bank will continue with its tradition of solid motorsport sponsorship in the coming years.

To get the latest soccer news, text 'SPORTS' to 22840.

“KCB Bank Kenya will be the official banking partner for the 2019 Safari rally, we are envisaging to re-ignite the motorsport spirit in Kenya as we gear up for the return of the WRC” said Angela.

51 drivers have signed up for the historic event which will also double up as the fourth round of FIA African Rally Championship (ARC). The 2019 Safari Rally will run this weekend with the crews traversing Nairobi and Nakuru counties.

The rally will be flagged outside the presidential pavilion at Kasarani Stadium at 11 am on Friday morning after which the crews will set off for a gruelling 796.86 Kms around Nairobi, Kiambu and Nakuru Counties.

Among the top contenders expected to spice up the competition are reigning two times Africa Champion Manvir Baryan, 5-times Safari Rally winner Carl Tundo, Zambian duo of Jassy Singh and Leroy Gomes and multiple Uganda Rally champion Ronald Ssebaguzi. Also in the mix is the legendary 1994 WRC Safari Rally winner Ian Duncan, 2 times winner Baldev Chager and 3 times Nakuru Rally winner Onkar Rai.

After the flag off at Kasarani, drivers will head to Sopa lodge for overnight perc- Ferme before embarking on Saturday's action in Soysambu and Kedon'g on Sunday ahead of the Prize giving ceremony at 4:30 pm on Sunday at Sopa Lodge.

For More of This and Other Sports Stories Subscribe to the Standard Epaper