Star-studded field for Kajiado: Rally Duncan leads top names set for battle

Eric Bengi and Tuta Monki in a Subaru N12 during a past rally. They will be in action at the Fly540 Rally in Kajiado on Saturday.

Fly540 sponsored event on today with 39 drivers set to compete.

A total of 39 crews, 10 in the premier Kenya rally car category will start today’s Fly540 RSC Rally.

Six-time champion Ian Duncan heads the seeded entry list, with defending champion Tapio Laukkanen second, according to names released by Kenya Motor Sports Federation secretariat.

Former African champion Jaspreet “Jassi” Chatthe and his partner Gurdeep Panesar “Gugu” will take off in third position under ‘Team Kibos’ banner.

MRT’s Manvir Baryan and Onkar Rai of Kabras Sugar Racing are the two emerging Kenya National Rally Championship stars and both will pilot the much-anticipated new Skoda Fabia R5 on its fourth outing on Kenyan soil.

The rest of the Kabras drivers -Baldev “Boldy” Chager and Tejveer Rai -will steer Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 10 R4s which are equally competitive.

There is also an ex-Rajbir Rai Fiesta Fiesta R5 for youngster Amaanraj Rai, Rising star Karan Patel and former multiple KNRC champion Carl “Flash” Tundo will drive Mitsubishi Evolution 10s.

A fierce fight is in prospect in the Classic Car category, which has attracted five entries with a mix of cars including Mark1 and Mark2 Ford Escorts and Datsuns.

Raaji Bharij (Ford Escort MK1), Ramesh Vishram (Ford Escort MK2) and Jonathan Somen (Ford Escort Mk2) head the Ford runners while Stefano Roca is back in a Datsun 280Z and will be navigated by former KNRC Champion Pier Daykin.

Rajwinder Jutely will rev at the wheel of a Datsun 160J.

There are three entries in the Group S competition which is a preserve of cars of expired homologation.

Newcomer Gerald Maina aka “G-Captain” and Mombasa based youngster Sohanjeet Puee of Team Nanak are among other notable drivers entered in the S Class of the event.

Clerk of the course, Frank Gitau said the rally will be flagged-off at Galleria Mall from 7am.

“Rally cars will then tackle a 28km transport road section through to the first stage at Oldonyati. Rally traffic will then proceed into a Remote Refuel zone, through to the 53km stage at Oldokilani.

Crews will then tackle the 32km stretch (CS3) from Kajiado to Kipeto.

Next Story
Real Madrid president Perez breaks silence on Harry Kane speculation

Real Madrid president Florentino Perez has broken his silence over Los Blancos' alleged interest in Tottenham striker Harry Kane.

Phil Neville interested in Everton top job

Phil Neville has put his hat in the ring for the Everton job - as the club confirmed David Unsworth is in temporary charge.

Why Romelu Lukaku’s mother had to accompany him in youth games

In an interview with Mino Raiola, the super-agent has spoken about client Romelu Lukaku and the problems he had at youth level.

Arsenal 'considering move for Brazilian starlet'

Arsenal are considering a move for Brazilian starlet Alan Guimaraes - but face competition from Real Madrid.

Ronaldo retains FIFA award for world's best player

Real Madrid’s Portugal striker Cristiano Ronaldo was crowned the best soccer player in the world for the second year running at FIFA’s The Best awards gala on Monday.

What Gor Mahia need to be the giants they ought to be

I’ll start off by congratulating Gor Mahia for winning their 16th league title. Good work indeed. Winning four league titles in the last five seasons is not just something that can go unappreciated – FANTASTIC.

More Stories
Chess: Equity bank vital points to open up gap in league ranking

Equity Bank are now firmly in the driving seat after last weekend’s Kenya National Chess League matches in Mombasa.

Tundo in search of flying start: Chager and company keen on maintaining top form

Tundo and Jessop in search of flying start in Ngong race

Kenyan wins Sh20.8 million SportPesa Mega Jackpot bonus

A lucky Kenyan has won Sh20, 834,231 SportPesa Mega Jackpot bonus after making 16 out of 17 correct predictions in this week’s jackpot games.

Lucky Kenyan wins SportPesa midweek jackpot

One Mr. Alfred Kwendo, father of two girls is the latest SportPesa millionaire in town.

I will keep clean sheets for the late Vinny, vows Origi

Kenya international goal keeper Arnold Otieno Origi honored his befallen compatriot Vincent ‘vinny’ Ochieng by keeping a clean sheet during a league match in the Eliteserien on Sunday, Norway.

Car Racing: 72-year-old Kenyan granny racing for an honorable cause

The busy pit stops; smell of the burning rubber; the explosive fiery-spit from the racing engine create a tense unsettling atmosphere.

Rallying: Battle lines shaping up ahead of East Africa marathon motor competition

Speed merchant nicknamed 'Flash' signs up for KQ Safari Classic.

Betting firm SportPesa launches campaign to propel sports in Kenya

Kenya’s sporting legends have lauded the new campaigned dubbed ‘Tujiamini’ by betting company SportPesa.

Chess training to be conducted in Nairobi

Chess Kenya will conduct training sessions at Moi Nairobi Girls this weekend. According to Shem Vilembwa, the Chess Kenya executive in charge of schools, more than 100 girls will attend the session.

SporPesa launches campaign to propel sports in Kenya

Intention is to propel all sports disciplines to world stage