National Olympic Committee of Kenya top brass set for stiff opposition in May 29 polls

By Omulo Okoth

After a bruising battle during the Athletics Kenya (AK) elections, focus turns on the National Olympic Committee of Kenya (NOCK) elections on May 29.

Isaiah Kiplagat, who retained the AK top seat unopposed on Tuesday, now wants to become NOCK first vice chairman, currently being held by Peter Nderitu.

He will face Kenya Swimming Federation (KSF) boss Ben Ekumbo and Commissioner for Sports, Gordon Oluoch, who is said to be caving in to prompting by some federations. We cold not reach him to confirm this.

The NOCK top brass, save for Nderitu and committee member John Roberts, will defend their positions. Secretary General FK Paul so far has no opposition.

Defend his seat

Chairman Kip Keino, who confirmed he will defend his seat, will face off with his former vice Alfred Khang’ati.

“I want to ensure I complete the building (at Upper Hill),” he said, in reference to the Sh1.4 billion NOCK headquarters currently being constructed.

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Chairman Sam Nyamweya and Kenya Volleyball Federation chief Waithaka Kioni are eyeing the second vice chairmanship, being held by AK vice President David Okeyo. Nyamweya confirmed that he is in the race.

No one has come out to oppose treasurer Fridah Shiroya, but Kenya Hockey Union vice chair and broadcaster Ellynah Shivekah is said to be keen on the seat.

Assistant Treasurer, Stephen arap Soi, and assistant secretary, James Chacha, are reportedly facing the highest number of rivals, but no names have been dropped.

“Right now, candidates are just taking nomination forms. They are not saying which seats they are going for and we shall have to wait until they return the forms,” said FK Paul.

“What you have heard are just speculations. We shall know the truth when they return the forms,” he said.

Others said to have collected forms for various slots are John Ogolla of Body Building, Andrew Mudibo of Table Tennis, Anthony Kariuki of Wrestling, Anne Njambi of Badminton and Julius Mwangi of Cycling.

Committee members Catherine Ndereba and Resham Bains of hockey will defend their seats.

Athletes’ representatives Paul Tergat and Tegla Loroupe will also defend their seats.

Journalists trained on doping ahead of Commonwealth Games
Former FKF boss Nick Mwendwa to face fresh charges
By Mike Kihaki 1 month ago
Sports in Schools set to resume next week
By Ochieng Oyugi 1 month ago
Street Style Football: Coast champion Fadhili lifts national title, eyes World Final