Rugby: Kabeberi Sevens to kick off 2022 National Sevens Circuit

Kabras Sugar's Jone Kubu lines up a penalty. [Washington Onyango,Standard]

Kabeberi Sevens will mark the return of the National Sevens Circuit after a two-year hiatus to kick off the 2022-2023 local rugby season.

This tournament, which is hosted by Mwamba RFC is played in honor of founding member George Mwangi Kabeberi who passed away in 1986. 

The significance of the tournament has been expanded to honor club members who have passed away in the years since, including recently Leeroy Okara, Absalom “Bimbo” Mutere, Abedeen Shikoyi, and Jimmy Owino and Victor Wayodi.

It will be held at the RFUEA Ground on May 21st and 22nd and signals the beginning of the quest to be crowned Kenyan club sevens champions.

With the exception of 2020 and 2021 when sporting activities were hampered by the Covid 19 pandemic, this tournament has been played every year since 1988.

Hosts Mwamba and Impala Saracens boast the most wins at Kabeberi, having lifted the title 7 times each while Kenya Harlequin have lifted the cup title at this tournament on 6 occasions.

Defending National Sevens Circuit champions KCB, Nakuru, Homeboyz and the defunct Barclays RFC have won each won 2 titles while Kenya 7s, Ulinzi and Stanchart boast of a title a piece.

The Kenya Rugby Union is expected to release the 2022 Kabeberi 7s draw in the course of the week.