Kisumu County indefinitely suspends four MCAs ousted by ODM

Kisumu County Assembly has suspended four nominated Members until further notice, Speaker Elisha Jack says.

This comes hours after the four were expelled by the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party for gross misconduct.

According to a communique to by the Speaker on Thursday, the decision was made after the party notified the House of the National Executive Council (NEC).

The four are: Carolyne Opar, Keneddy Ajwang, Peter Obaso and Regina Kizito.

“As per the letter, I hereby inform you that the mentioned members are suspended from all functions of the assembly with immediate effect. This means that they will no longer participate in any assembly activities until further notice.”

“I kindly request the Clerk of the County Assembly to take note of this communication and ensure that the necessary administrative actions are taken to enforce the suspension of the aforementioned members. I urge all members to adhere to this decision and maintain the integrity and smooth functioning of our assembly during this period.”

In its letter, the party noted that the four were a given a fair hearing in accordance with ODM’s constitution before the decision was made.

“It is important to note that the affected members were granted the opportunity for a fair hearing during the party’s internal dispute resolution process. This process was conducted in strict compliance with the provisions of sections 4, 5 and 6 of the Fair Administration Act,” ODM’s letter reads in part.