Eight consulates in Kenya ask leaders to maintain country's peaceful identity

President William Ruto (left) and opposition leader Raila Odinga. [File, Standard]

Some eight consulates in Kenya are pleading with leaders to maintain the peaceful identity that the country has had for years.

The eight made their communication jointly in a statement on Wednesday, March 29 evening.

They are Ambassadors and High Commissioners from Australia, Canada, Denmark, The Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, The United Kingdom, and The United States.

In the statement, the ambassadors and high commissioners recognised the constitutional right to demonstrate and urged involved parties to play their roles in ensuring peace and security is maintained.

"Kenya has rightfully earned a reputation as an anchor of stability, security and democracy in Africa and beyond. We agree with the Africa Union Commission (AUC) Chairperson in recalling the successful conduct of the general elections in 2022, and the unanimous confirmation of their results by the Supreme Court," the joint statement reads.

"We are deeply concerned by the recent unrest and violence as well as the destruction of places of worship and private property. It is also damaging economic activity at a time of significant financial challenges. We recognise the right to peaceful protest under Kenya's Constitution. All actors also have a responsibility to adhere to the principles of democracy, freedom and the rule of law."

They have also lauded the Inspector General of Police Japhet Koome's commitment to investigate the recent events, including the destruction of private property.