Cate Waruguru loses Laikipia East MP UDA nomination

Laikipia Woman Representative Cate Waruguru. [File, Standard]

Laikipia Woman Representative Catherine Waruguru has lost the bid to run for Laikipia East MP seat on the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket.

Waruguru was defeated by Amin Deddy, who got 12,743 votes. Waruguru, on the other hand, got 5,595, a difference of 7,148 votes.

Anthony Mutahi came third with 2,701 votes.

Deddy’s supporters took to Nanyuki Town on Friday, April 15 to celebrate his victory as Waruguru’s supporters alleged electoral fraud.

Deddy will face off against former Agriculture Cabinet Secretary (CS) Mwangi Kiunjuri, who will run for Laikipia East parliamentary seat on The Service Party (TSP).

Kiunjuri is the leader of TSP, which has endorsed Deputy President William Ruto’s presidential candidature.

Others in the Laikipia East MP race are Mwangi Wa Sammy of Jubilee, Michael Waigwa and Anthony Rukwaro.