× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Cartoons Lifestyle Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Ramadhan Special Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Former legislators Zebedeo Opore and Mary Otara cleared to run for Bonchari MP seat

By Betty Njeru | March 30th 2021

Former Bonchari MP Zebedeo Opore cleared to contest for the Bonchari MP seat. [Edwin Nyarangi, Standard]

Three more candidates have been cleared by the Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to run for the Bonchari by-elections.

Former legislators Zebedeo Opore and Mary Sally Otara will run for the Bonchari parliamentary seat on a Jubilee and United Green Movement Party ticket respectively.

The electoral agency presented nomination papers to the two on Tuesday morning, paving way for what is shaping up to be a hotly-contested by-election.

Opore, a former Bonchari MP enjoys the support of Jubilee Party, and will be contesting against 10 other aspirants, among them former Kisii Woman Representative Mary Otara.

The by-election has been slated for May 18.

Other candidates include the late MP John Oyioka’s widow Teresa Bitutu who will run on a United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party ticket, and immediate former Energy Petroleum Regulatory Commission (EPRA) Deputy General Pavel Oimeke running on an ODM ticket.

Competition is highly expected between the ODM and Jubilee candidates, as the region has enjoyed the support of ODM over the years.

Take a quick survey and help us improve our website!

Take a survey

Former Kisii Woman Representative Mary Otara cleared to run for the Bonchari MP seat. [Edwin Nyarangi, Standard]

Jonah Ondieki will fly The New Democrats (TND) ticket, Victor Omanwao- People’s Economic Development (PED), Charles Mogaka- Progressive Party of Kenya (PPK), David Ogega- Kenya Social Congress), Kevin Mosomi-PDU, and Eric Oigo- National Reconstruction Alliance.

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) which had supported the late Oroo in the 2017 election will be supporting the UDA candidate.

The seat fell vacant on February 15 this year following the death of MP John Oyioka. He died at the Aga Khan Hospital in Kisumu after a long illness, and was buried at his Suneka home on February 26, 2021.

Share this story
Pandemic sets apart stingy and generous banks in dividend payouts
CBK data shows that the sector’s profit before tax dropped by almost a third to Sh112.8 billion in the financial year ending last year
Egypt beat Comoros 4-0 as Malawi add name to list of Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers
Richard Mbulu’s diving header handed Malawi a 1-0 victory over Uganda on Monday and a place at the Africa Cup of Nations finals for only the third tim