President Ruto nominates Renson Igonga as next DPP

President William Ruto addressing congregants during an event on August 15, 2023. [ File, Standard]

President William Ruto has nominated Renson Mulele Igonga for the position of Director of Public Prosecution (DPP). 

The announcement was made by National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetangula on Thursday, August 17.

Igonga’s name has now been forwarded to the National Assembly for vetting.

The nominee was among fifteen (15) candidates who had been shortlisted for the position. 

The others are; former IEBC Commissioner Thomas Letangule, lawyer Danstan Omari, advocate Taib Ali Taib, Jacinta Nyamosi, Victor Mule, Tabitha Ouya,

David Ruto, Andayi Francis, Winston Ngaira, Peter Mailayi, Lilian Okumu-Obuo, Jacob Ondari, James Ndegwa and David Okachi.

Igonga is also the current regional head in charge of North Eastern and is based in Garissa town.

If approved by the National Assembly, he will succeed Noordin Haji who was sworn in as the Director-General of the National Intelligence Service (NIS) on June 14. 

Should Igonga be approved, he will hold office for a non-renewable term of eight years.

At the same time, the president has nominated Andrew Musangi as the chairperson of the Central Bank of Kenya for a period of four years.

He now awaits vetting by the National Assembly.

If successful, Musangi will replace lawyer Mohammed Nyaoga whose term came to an end in June this year.