Ruto pushes out more Uhuru appointees from key jobs

President William Ruto (R) with his predecessor Uhuru Kenyatta at a past public function. [File, Standard]

President William Ruto has continued with the purge of Uhuru Kenyatta's appointees in key government institutions.

Aden Noor Ali will replace former Controller of Budget Agnes Odhiambo as the chairperson of the National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA) Board.

Odhiambo had been appointed by retired president Uhuru Kenyatta to the position in May 2020.

In a Gazette Notice dated February 3, 2023, President Ruto replaced Odhiambo with Ali, whose three-year term begins immediately.

Also removed from her post as the chairperson of the Women Enterprise Fund Advisory Board, is Prof. Wanjiku Kabira. She has been replaced by Dr. Jane Lagat, whose three-year term started on Friday, February 3, 2023.

Kabira, a Literature professor, had been appointed to the position by retired president Kenyatta in July 2022.

Established in August 2007, the Women Enterprise Fund is a semi-autonomous government agency in the Ministry of Public Service and Gender Affairs.

It provides affordable credit to women to start and expand their businesses.

Ambassador Dennis Awori, who was among the last appointees during Kenyatta's final term, has also been removed from the State Corporations Advisory Committee as a member.

The new members of the advisory committee appointed by President Ruto on Friday, February 3 are Joseph Kimani Machiri, Claire Sifuna Wanyama, Ahmed Abdi Rashid, Mary Murangi Mugo and Caroline Cherono Kilisha.

Ruto also appointed retired Chief of Defence Forces Samson Mwathethe the Non-Executive chairperson of the Kenya Forestry Research Institute for a period of three years, replacing John Waithaka whose appointment has been revoked.

Waithaka was appointed to the parastatal by retired president Uhuru Kenyatta in August 2022.

Also shown the door, is Phillip Charo, who has been replaced by Mzee Mwinyi Mzee as the chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Coast Development Authority for a period of three years.

Charo had been in that position since October 2021.

The new appointments mark the continuation of President Ruto's purge of Kenyatta's appointees to State corporations.

On January 20, 2023, President Ruto appointed Abdi Bare Duale the chairperson of the Kenya Electricity Transmission Company (KETRACO), replacing David Azangu Ngaira whose appointment was revoked.

On the same date, Ruto appointed Charles Githinji the chairperson of the Pharmacy and Poisons Board, replacing James Atebe whose contract was revoked.

Surum Ipato Korema, a Kenyatta-appointee to the position of chairperson of the Anti-FGM Board, was also shown the exit door on January 20, and replaced by Agnes Mantaine Pareiyo.

On December 23, 2022, President Ruto appointed former Transport Cabinet Secretary Engineer Michael Kamau the chairperson of the NHIF Board for a period of three years, revoking the appointment of Lewis Nguyai.

At the same time, the Head of State appointed Faith Boinett the chairperson of the Kenya Pipeline Board of Directors for three years, replacing Rita Achieng Okuthe, whose contract was revoked.