CJ Martha Koome unveils judges who'll determine titanic election battles

Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru [Andrew Simon, Standard]

Chief Justice Martha Koome has gazetted the judges and magistrates who will determine 123 election-related petitions.

Twelve (12) of the filed petitions challenge the election of respective governors.

The Kirinyaga gubernatorial petition will be a duel of heavyweights as Wangui Ngirici, who unsuccessfully ran on Independent ticket, challenges Anne Waiguru's win.

The matter will be heard by Justice Richard Mwongo of the Kerugoya High Court.

Ngirici lost the governorship election by 7,411 votes.

The former Kirinyaga Woman Representative got 105,677 votes against Waiguru's 113,088 votes. Ngirici alleges that Waiguru stole her victory.

In yet another grand battle, former Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero will face off against Homa Bay Governor Gladys Wanga at the Homa Bay Court. Justice Roselyne Aburili will be the umpire.

Kidero, who ran on Independent ticket, got 154,182 votes against Wanga's 244,559. Wanga was sponsored to the polls by ODM.

Kidero alleges that besides being rigged out, violence broke out during the election, leading to his loss.

In Busia County, Justice David Kipyegon will determine a petition filed by Sakwa Bunyasi, who is challenging Governor Paul Otuoma's win in the August 9, 2022 election.

Otuoma, who ran on ODM ticket, got 164,478 votes against Bunyasi's 92,144. Bunyasi vied on Amani National Congress (ANC) Party ticket.

In Kajiado County, Justice Janet Mulwa will hear the petition filed by Katoo Ole Metito against Governor Joseph Ole Lenku.

Lenku, who ran for office on ODM ticket, got 117,600 votes against UDA candidate Metito's 111,725 votes. Metito alleges the results were skewed in Lenku's favour.

In Makueni County, Mutula Kilonzo Junior's win will be subjected to hearing and determination by Justice Margaret Mwangi.

Kilonzo of Wiper Party got 214,088 votes to be declared the winner of the gubernatorial race. Patrick Musimba, an Independent candidate, was aggrieved by the results, prompting his petition at the Makueni High Court.

In the parliamentary election front, Justice Hillary Chemetei will hear and determine a petition filed against Nyali Member of Parliament (MP) Mohammed Ali's win. Ali of UDA got 32,933 votes while the petitioner, Yasir Nor of Jubilee Party, got 889 votes.

Justice Mary Kasango of the Eldoret High Court will hear and determine a petition filed Bryan Khaemba, who is challenging Didmus Barasa's win in the Kimilili parliamentary election.

Barasa of UDA got 36,861 votes to be declared the winner. Khaemba of Democratic Action Party of Kenya (DAP-K) got 9,497 votes to take the second position. Khaemba alleges that the election was marred by violence.

In Nakuru County, Justice Rose Ougo will hear an election petition filed by former Bahati MP Kimani Ngunjiri against Irene Njoki's win. Njoki, who ran on Jubilee Party ticket, got 34,308 votes while Ngunjiri of UDA got 26,809 votes.

Ngunjiri alleges he lost the election unfairly.

At the Milimani Law Courts in Nairobi, Justice Jairus Nyagah will determine the petition filed by Ahmed Boray against Adan Keynan's Eldas parliamentary win. Keynan, who ran on Jubilee Party ticket, got 7,517 votes against ODM candidate Boray's 6,838 votes.