× Digital News Videos Africa Health & Science Opinion Columnists Education Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Planet Action Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS


Jubilee purge on rebels to continue, Wangwe warns

By Grace Ng'ang'a | Jan 20th 2022 | 2 min read

National Assembly Majority Whip Emmanuel Wangwe. [Boniface Okendo, Standard]

Jubilee Party has cracked the whip on seven MPs chairing parliamentary committees for opposing the Political Parties (Amendment) Bill, 2021.

National Assembly Majority Whip Emmanuel Wangwe yesterday said the party won't work with MPs opposed to its agenda.

In letter by Wangwe, the MPs were asked to explain why the party should not kick them out of committees. Wange also said some committee vice chairs be kicked out. He said Jubilee is organising itself “to see who can carry its mandate better” ahead of the August polls. Wangwe said as a party member, “loyalty is expected from you and mainly on party interest Bills."

"When a party sponsors a Bill on the floor of the House, support is expected from all its members,” the Chief Whip said. The Bill sponsored by Majority Leader Amos Kimunya intends to among others, provide for the formation of a coalition political party.

Should it be enacted into law, it would allow dual membership of parties and individual membership and allow candidates to run on either coalition party tickets or individual parties, paving way for ODM leader Raila Odinga’s Azimio la Umoja Movement.

Jubilee cracked the whip on Bura MP Ali Wario and his Marakwet East counterpart William Kisang, who chair the Committee on Regional Integration and Communication, Information and Innovation, respectively. Others are Maara MP Kareke Mbiuki, who chairs Environment, Nakuru East MP David Gikaria who chairs the Energy and Kajiado South MP Katoo Ole Metito, who chairs Defence and Foreign Relations.

Also purged is Lunga Lunga MP Khatib Mwashetani, vice chair of Lands Committee, Kiambu Women Rep Gathoni Wamuchomba (Vice, Roads and Transport) and Moses Lessonet (Vice, Budget and Appropriation).

Share this story
Deal with negative impacts of social media on youth
Parents have raised concerns about the dangers this has posed and the difficult task of controlling what the children access online.
Teachers’ unions in fresh push to negotiate higher pay for members
A teachers’ union has made a fresh pitch for a salary raise, months after signing an ‘empty’ agreement with the employer that drew uproar from members