× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Nyagarama sends home four members of his executive

By Stanley Ongwae | April 19th 2020

Nyamira Governor John Nyagarama has terminated the contracts of four members of his cabinet.

The action came six months later after an initial two-year contract of all the nine executive members expired in October last year, but were handed an extension of two months.

Those fired are Gladys Momanyi (education and ICT), Peris Mong’are (agriculture), Samuel Maiko (environment) and former Kisii County Secretary Johnstone Obike (trade) who were appointed three years ago. 

The governor has been under pressure from his Deputy Amos Nyaribo and other critics, who have questioned the composition of the devolved unit’s governance structure, especially after contracts of the ministers ended in October.

“The governor had delayed advertising for the expired posts and even the extension of their contracts was questionable,” Nyaribo had complained then.  

Late last year, the governor confirmed what he had indicated seven months ago when asked on whether he would send his entire cabinet home following expiry of their initial two-year contracts.

“Not all will go. I will have to maintain some, who will show the new ones the ropes,” he had said.

Those spared the sack are John Moenga Omanwa (Public Works), Douglas Bosire (Health), Peter Muga Omwanza (Finance), Bernard Osumo (Public Administration) and Zablon Onchiri (Lands and Housing). Omanwa, Bosire and Omwanza also served during Nyagarama’s first term in office.

The new appointees, who will be subject to approval by the County Assembly, are Eng Shem Nyaribari (Environment), Dr Stella Anyega (Trade), Stella Nyamorambo (Gender), Dr Samson Barongo (Education) and Pauline Kerubo Oyugi (Agriculture).


Share this story
Kenyans continue defying Covid-19 directives
Although they claim the casket is for the dead grandparent, authorities have established it was used as a decoy to bypass police in roadblocks
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...