The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Amonde back as KCB face struggling Impala with top four on sight

 KCB's Andrew Amonde during Kenya Cup match against Muhuran at Ruaraka. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Defending champions KCB Rugby will be seeking to register their third win of the campaign when they host bottom placed Impala Saracens at KCB Sports Club, Ruaraka at 3pm.

The 2021 Kenya Cup league resumes on Saturday after the Christmas and New Year celebration break.

The KCB Sports Club in Ruaraka will play to a double header with Kenyatta University’s Blak Blad taking on Mwamba in the early-kick off match at 1pm.

Last season’s runners up Kabras Sugar and Menengai Oilers currently lead the standings with 20 points and the bankers target is to catch up with the duo.

KCB are fifth with 11 points after two wins and a draw but with a game in hand to play against Blak Blad Rugby Club.

Impala on the other side are enduring a difficult start to life in the Kenya Cup after losing all their opening four matches of the new season.

Meanwhile, former Kenya Sevens captain and Olympian Andrew Amonde will feature for KCB for the first time in the 2021-2022 season after being named in the match day squad.

Amonde who retired from international rugby last year will start alongside Brodie Kagia and Felix Ojow in the back row as Mannaseh Oduor and Oliver Mang’eni form the second row.

Jacob Ojee will also make his first appearance this season on the left wing, with Darwin Mukidza on the right side and Isaac Njoroge is at fullback. Samwel Asati will be at scrum half.


KCB Rugby: 1. Patrick Ouko, 2. Wilfred Waswa, 3. Curtis Lilako, 4. Manaseh Oduor, 5. Oliver Mang’eni, 6. Andrew Amonde, 7. Brodie Kagia, 8. Felix Ojow, 9. Samuel Asati, 10. Smith Muhoya, 11. Jacob Ojee, 12. Bob Muhati, 13. Peter Kilonzo, 14. Darwin Mukidza, 15.I saac Njoroge

Impala Saracens:1. Kevin Ronoh 2. Discent Ekisa 3. Brian Ochieng 4. Bill Arigi 5. Davies Makori 6. Valentino Cosmas (C) 7. Elkeans Musonye 8. Paul Mutsami 9. Dennis Juma 10. Martin Juma 11. Bildad Ochieng* 12. Mark Ongayo 13. Israel Soi 14. Quinto Ongo (VC) 15. Anderson Odour


Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week