The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Xo wins CIB tournament at Sigona Golf Club

 Daphne Maina tees off on the par-five fifth hole during the Commercial International Bank golf series played at Sigona Golf Club, April 6, 2024. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Home player Xo Hongxin inked a sterling score of 39 stableford points to win the overall title of Commercial International Bank third leg at Sigona Golf Club over the weekend.

Xo, playing off handicap 18, returned to the clubhouse with the winning score courtesy of a whopping 23 stableford points from his outward nine and an additional 16 stableford points for the winning score during the daylong meet presented by Commercial International Bank Limited, formerly Mayfair Bank Limited.

As part of the banks' belief in the power of sports to bring people together, inspire teamwork, and create lasting connections.

Speaking at the prize-giving dinner, Daphne Maina, Ag CEO, of CIB Kenya Limited said, “We are honoured to be in Sigona Golf Club today as part of the commercial international bank (CIB) Kenya golf series.

“This series presents a channel for us to connect and forge lasting relationships with our clients and potential clients. We had a full field of about 250 golfers enjoying the game today.”

Unsuccessfully chasing Xo to the podium was Kimemia Mwangi playing off handicap 13, who posted 38 stableford points off handicap 13 to settle for the overall winner second.

It was a struggle for most of the golfers due to the wet course conditions following heavy rains that pounded the area for a better part of the night and early morning.

Handicap 5, Shivam Shah, emerged as the Gross winner with 75 Gross points followed by Gross winner second winner Hanif Tayebjee with 78 Gross points.

Leading in Division Two was Jinal Shah, playing off handicap 33, on a scorer of 30 stableford points.

The Best among the visiting golfers was Jackline Wambui, playing off handicap 33, who carded 26 points to claim the Guest winner prize.

In the Nines, Nay Vekaria was declared the First Nine winner with 25 stableford points taking the Second Nine prize on a score of 23 stableford points.

The commercials saw PS Panesar win the Longest Drive Men prize as Zipporah Gichigi won the Longest Drive Lady winner prize.

There were 14 twos registered by Dipak Halai (11), GM Gitau (3), Akshay Chandaria (5), Barat Shah (11), Shivam Shah (3&14), Jitesh Shah (5).

Others were Anand Chandarana (11), Zipporah Gichigi (11), Peter Warui (11), Rimal Sira (11), Ketul Kansagra (11) and Xo Hongxin on the third. Each won three golf balls.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week