The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Wokabi walks tall in Railway course action

 Nathan Njuguna in action during the Railway Captain 2022 prize tournament. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

Even if Jid Wokabi was under pressure, it did not show.

The handicap 21 held his nerves as he floored a crowded field of 277 golfers to claim the overall Captain (Nathan Njuguna) 2022 prize at Railway Golf Club, over the weekend.

Wokabi had a smooth sailing show on the first day after firing 4-over-76 nett and carding 35 stableford points on the final day for a decent score of 41 differential score to outshine the rest of the pack.

Wokabi defeated overall second winner, James Mugo, who was playing off handicap 2, on countback. He posted a similar score of 72-31=41 differential points.

Top club golfer Fidelis Kimanzi, playing off handicap 1, was the Gross winner on 76+82=158 gross.

The event was presented by Equity Bank, Johnnie Walker, Muthokinju Paints, Safaricom, Madison Insurance, Kenya Sweets Limited, NCBA, National Bank Limited and friends of the Captain.

In Best Past Captain category, handicap 11 James Karuga had the last laugh over the rest after returning to the clubhouse with 73-31=42 differential points.

Seasoned golfer and referee SK Mwaura settled for overall winner third on 73-31=42 differential points followed in fourth place by Tom Osoro with 80-38=42 differential points. Fred Makala, with 78-36=42, finished fifth.

On Friday, Men winner prize went to Geoffrey Yego, playing off handicap 11 with 70 nett four strokes better than handicap 8 Anko George Wakaba on 74 nett.

Starring in the Ladies section was Grace Katumbi as she carded 75 nett. Irene Kimeu garnered 77 nett to take home Lady winner prize after beating Jane Alice Mutuota on countback with a similar score of 77 nett.

Leading the Guest golfers was Maryanne Mugo on 78 nett while Tirus Mwithaga scooped the Sponsor prize after carding 75 nett. Handicap 13, Thacker Mintash won Junior prize on a score of 79 nett.

In the commercials, Duncan Mbuthia won the Longest Drive Men prize with Flaciah Gichomo winning the Longest Drive Lady winner prize.

Taking Nearest to Pin Men winner was Jame Karuga while Ann Wangui won Nearest to Pin Lady winner prize.

In the caddies' category, Nicholas Karanja, playing off handicap 7, won the Men Caddy winner prize with 78 nett as Ann Wangui, playing off handicap 19, won the Lady Caddy winner prize with 73 nett.

At Muthaiga Golf Club, Julius Mutethia was crowned the overall winner during Captain (Wycliffe Kaisha) 2022 prize. He had 65-40=25 differential points.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week