Names of 49 people picked by President Ruto to review CBC

Kenya's President William Ruto says the taskforce will be in place for six months. [File, Standard]

President William Ruto has appointed 42 members and seven secretaries to the Education reforms taskforce to review CBC progress.

This is in fulfilment of his pledge to have the suitability of the competency-based-curriculum evaluated.

Under the CBC programme, learners spend two years in pre-primary, six years in primary (Grades 1-6), three years in junior secondary (Grades 7,8,9), three years in senior secondary (Grades 10,11,12) and three years in university.

Unlike the 8-4-4 system that was said to be theory-heavy, CBC focuses on equipping a learner with technical, artistic and scientific skills that enables him or her to be hands-on.

Scientist Prof. Raphael Munavu will chair the 42-member taskforce set up by President Ruto.

Below is the full membership composition:

  1. Prof. Raphael Munavu – Chairperson
  2. Prof. David Some
  3. Dr. Halima Saado Abdilahi
  4. Dr. Ciriaka Gitonga
  5. Purity Mbaabu
  6. Dr. Edward Katue Nzinga
  7. Virginia Wahome
  8. Robert Juma Wamalwa
  9. Charles Kyalo Mutinda
  10. Prof. Gitahi Kiama
  11. Anthony Cheruiyot Sitienei
  12. Bishop Geffrey Waweru Gichoki
  13. Rev. Seline Chepngeno Ronoh
  14. Prof. Laila Abubakar
  15. Daniel Otieno Randa
  16. John Kamiti Munyua
  17. Prof. Paul Wainaina
  18. Kasanga Mutheu
  19. Margaret W Chege
  20. Prof. James Kanya
  21. Salome Eyangan
  22. Prof. Wiston Akala
  23. Peter Mokaya Tabichi
  24. Jane Kimiti
  25. Kizito Wangalwa
  26. Augusta Mwihaki Muthigani
  27. Prof. Peter Barasa
  28. Dr. Ahmed Yussuf
  29. Jone Mose
  30. Prof. Hassan Mwakimako
  31. Lynette Mwende Ndile
  32. Dr. Wilson Kogo
  33. Prof. Stephen Mbugua Ngari
  34. Paul Lilan
  35. Dr. Richard Githinji
  36. Prof. Collins Odote
  37. Dr. Jane Imbunya
  38. Jacinta Ngure
  39. Dr. Jerono P. Rotich
  40. Subira Neema
  41. Bernard Kariuki Njoroge
  42. Prof. Peter Njenga Keiyoro

The taskforce will also have seven secretaries, including the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Kenya National Examinations Council (KNEC) Dr. David Njegere.

The other six secretaries are Dr. Elyas Addi, Patita Tingoi, Prof. Jackson Too, Dr. Reuben Nthamburi Mugwuku, Richard Miano and Eunice Gachoka.

The team will be in place for six months, said President Ruto in a Gazette Notice dated Friday, September 30, 2022.

The taskforce will be expected to, among others, undertake summative evaluation of the competency-based-curriculum and assess and recommend an appropriate structure to implement the competency-based-curriculum.

The Prof. Munavu-led taskforce will also assess the examination framework and the quality assurance and standards framework.

The 49 members of the group have also been tasked to review and recommend a governance and financing framework for TVET training and development, university education, research and training.

The team will be briefing President Ruto on the progress of their reviews after every two months.