Agano to oppose any petition against Ruto's win

Agano Party leader Waihiga Mwaure and his deputy Ruth Mutua on August 16, 2022. [David Gichuru, Standard]

Agano Party leader David Mwaure has said they will oppose any petition challenging the election of William Ruto as the country's fifth president.

Mwaure said Ruto's win was aboveboard and any attempts by Azimio presidential candidate Raila Odinga who lost to the Deputy President should be rejected.

IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati on Monday announced the Kenya Kwanza candidate garnered 7.17 million against Raila's 6.94 million votes.

However, four IEBC commissioners, Vice-Chairperson Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi, Justus Nyang'aya and Irene Masit, have rejected the results, saying they opted to walk out due to the opaqueness in which the process had been conducted. The other Commissioners are Francis Wanderi, Justus Nyang'aya and Irene Masit.

"We have no doubt that Ruto's win was above board, arithmetically supported by the votes and well above the 100 per cent mark. The same cannot be said of his closet opponent and the coalition he leads," said Mwaure while addressing the media at a Nairobi Hotel.

He added: "We in Agano cannot sit back and see schemes peace in the nation and bring violence. It is Azimio goons who disguised themselves as observers who were bringing documents to the tallying centre with fabricated results and wanted to use to rig the polls."

Yesterday, Raila declared he will challenge Ruto's win at the Supreme Court.