Jubilee nominates Uhuru Kenyatta's sister as parties out to reward loyalists

Murang'a Woman Rep Sabina Chege. [David Njaaga, Standard]

Others who the party wants to sit in the August House are Marsabit Woman Rep Safia Sheikh Adan, Hassan Aden Osman who vied for Mandera Senator in the 2017 election, Khadija Awale the chairperson of Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, former Molo MP Njenga Mungai, Viwandani (Nakuru County) Ward Rep Eric Gichuki Kariuki, Alex Matere, who was active in the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) campaigns, Catherine Kasimu who served as a nominated MCA in Kitui between 2013 and 2017, as well as Agnes Waithera Ibara, Ekutan Leonard Ewoton and Hannah Wanja Maina.

Wanja has been nominated for the slot set aside for people living with a disability.

For the Senate, other than Uhuru's sister, Jubilee has submitted the names of Prof Margaret Kamar, Nairobi Governor Ann Kananu, CAS Lina Jebii Kilimo, former MP Sammy Leshore, Kenyan Ambassador to Iran Rukia Ahmed Subo Muhamed as well as Rachel Kamweru who led the Nairobi Mashinani Women Caucus to support the BBI.

ODM has largely gone with the same formula as Jubilee mixing party loyalists and politicians who backed the initiative to amend the Constitution.

ODM has nominated Umulkher Harun, 26, who is a member of the Raila Campaign secretariat to the National Assembly and Suba South MP John Mbadi, who dropped his bid for Homa Bay governor. Others are Nyamira county assembly MCA Irene Nyakerario, ODM Nominated MCA in Nairobi Mary Ariviza Mwami.

Suba South MP John Mbadi. [Edward Kiplimo, Standard]

Raila's party has nominated to the Senate Catherine Muma, the party elections board chairperson alongside Beth Syengo, President of the ODM Women's League, Crystal Asige, Homa Bay CEC Beatrice Akinyi Oyomo, Hezena Lemaletian, Sunjeev Kaur Birdi and Harold Kimuge Kipchumba, who has a physical disability. Kipchumba was nominated in 2013 but was later removed after a petition.

Journalist Elizabeth Kanini is among Wiper party's five nominees to the National Assembly while former Lamu County Woman Rep Shakila Mohammed and Nominated Senator Sylvia Kasanga make up Kalonzo party's list of six nominees to the Senate.

ANC has nominated to the Senate Mudavadi's private press secretary Kabisu Kabatesi, Nominated Senator Petronila Were and Harriet Chiggai.

Yesterday, IEBC said aggrieved parties are at liberty to file their complaints arising from the party lists from July 28 to August 6.