Since 1902

Committee finalises plans for late Senator Otieno Kajwang's send-off ceremony

Arrangements to give the late Senator Otieno Kajwang' (Homa Bay) a befitting farewell have been finalised.

Legislators are also scheduled to visit Kajwang's family at his Nairobi home today.

Senators and members of the National Assembly will condole with the family as he begins his final journey beginning Wednesday morning.

Speaking to The Standard, Homa Bay Town MP Peter Kaluma said the senator's body would leave Lee Funeral Home tomorrow morning.

"There will be a requiem mass at SDA Central Maxwell Church and there will be no speeches save for one on behalf of the family. At 11am, the procession will make its way to Uhuru Park for public viewing," said Mr Kaluma.

"Kajwang's remains will then be taken to his Runda home for an overnight stay," he added.

The MP said at 7am on Thursday, the body will be flown to Kisumu followed by a road procession with a brief stop at Ofafa Hall and a public viewing at the Jomo Kenyatta sports grounds.

"Residents will have an opportunity to give Kajwang' their final salutations and at 11am, the funeral convoy will hit the road, passing through Ahero, Katito and Kendu Bay town to Homa Bay town.


"There will be a brief stop-over in Homa Bay town to allow his constituents to view the body at the local stadium before proceeding to his Waondo home through Mbita," explained Kaluma, adding that the programme was subject to minimal changes.

"We expect the body to arrive at his rural home at 4pm, where it will stay overnight, and the funeral service held the following day at Waondo Primary School. His remains will finally be laid to rest at his home later in the day," he said.

A 15-member committee was formed last week to spearhead the burial plans.

Meanwhile, MPs have contributed Sh3.5million while senators contributed Sh30,000 each towards funeral expenses.

The burial committee comprises Deputy Speaker Kembi Gitura (chairman), Majority Leader Kithure Kindiki (Tharaka/Nithi), Minority Leader Moses Wetang'ula (Bungoma), Minority Whip Johnstone Muthama (Machakos), senators Beth Mugo (nominated), Kiraitu Murungi (Meru), James Orengo (Siaya), Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet) and Agnes Zani (nominated).