× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

President Uhuru Kenyatta to attend SADC/ICGLR summit in South Africa

By PSCU | November 4th 2013
President Uhuru Kenyatta and First Lady Margaret at JKIA moments after jetting back from Kigali earlier this week. The President had attended the 3rd Infrastructure Summit where he met Presidents Yoweri Museveni (Uganda), Paul Kagame (Rwanda) and Salva Kiir (South Sudan). (Photo:PSCU)


Nairobi, Kenya: President Uhuru Kenyatta will Monday November 4, 2013 travel to Pretoria, South Africa for a two-day official visit.

The President and his delegation will depart Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) shortly after 10am.

While in Pretoria, the President will attend the Joint Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR) Summit of Heads of State and Government to be held at OR Tambo conference centre.

The SADC/ICGLR Summit brings together 16 African countries to consider the Report of a Joint Ministerial Meeting on the Implementation of the Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework for the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Region.

Kenya is at the frontline in championing peace, security and stability at both regional and continental levels as key determinants for socio-economic development and regional integration.

Kenya is one of the twelve member states of the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR). Others are Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, the Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia.

The Southern African Development Co-ordination (SADC) countries include Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

On Tuesday 5th November 2013, the President will meet Kenyan Diaspora in Johannesburg.

The President will on Wednesday 6th November 2013 travel to Gaborone, Botswana for talks with the host President, Lieutenant General Seretse Khama Ian Khama before departing for Nairobi.

Share this story
Gor’s ‘Giniwasekao’ dictionary
You have seen them on the streets. They are smiling from ear-to-ear, their team having bagged the Kenya Premier League (KPL) trophy.
Diabetes: Insulin now an essential drug
Listing NCDs is a relief to Kenyans like 65-year-old Kahuho Mathai from Nyeri County, who was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and high blood pressure.