William Ruto allies carry the day in Meru

Tigania East MP-elect Mpuru Aburi receives a certificate from Tigania East Returning Officer after he was declared the winner on  August 11, 2022. [Wilberforce Okwiri, Standard]

Imenti Central MP Moses Kirima has been re-elected on Deputy President William Ruto's United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket.

Kirima garnered 27,491 votes against Mwenda Makathimo of Mwangi Kiunjuri's The Service Party (TSP) who got 12,278 votes in a constituency that hardly re-elects an MP since the 1990s.

The two were also the leading candidates in the 2017 election.

The Jubilee candidate for South Imenti constituency  Shadrack Mwiti emerged the winner with 37,997 votes. UDA's Mwiti Kathara was second with 25,127 votes followed by Devolution Empowerment Party's Gideon Kimathi with 10,903. The MP elect came second in the 2017 poll which was won by Kathuri Murungi, who opted to vie for Senate.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Returning Officer Kassim Kaema announced Mwiti the winner yesterday afternoon at the South Imenti tallying centre, Kaguru Farmers Training Centre.

The MP elect lauded the IEBC for conducting a fair and transparent exercise and pledged to work with his competitors and other leaders to develop the region.

"The campaign was very peaceful. I will work with all elected MCAs as a team to spur development. I thank God for a successful campaign, and the clergy," he stated.

He extended an olive branch to his challengers and urged them to share their agenda so that he can include it his development plan for the area.

Mr Mwiti also pledged to complete projects started by outgoing MP Murungi, who seemed headed for victory in the Senate race.

UDA secured MCA seats across Meru, including Nkuene Ward and Mitungu Ward where Martin Koome and Evans Mawira, respectively, carried the day.

"I am grateful to the people of Nkuene for giving me a chance to serve them for a second consecutive term. I commit to work even harder for their development," said Mr Koome.

Haroun Thuranira of UDA was elected Abogeta East MCA.

Abogeta West ward MCA Dennis 'DMK' Kiogora of Devolution Empowerment Party (DEP) successfully defended his seat.

In Tigania East, Eala MP Mpuru Aburi recaptured the seat he lost in 2017 to Gichunge Kabeabea after garnering 32,172 votes against the UDA rival who got 11,058 votes.

Mr Aburi received his certificate from Returning Officer John Kinyua and promised to roll out development projects. "I thank my people in Kiguchwa, Karama, Muthara, Thangatha, Mikinduri and others for supporting me. I will work for all in Tigania East," said the National Ordinary People Empowerment Union leader.

"I will not discriminate against anybody whether you voted for me or not. I commit to restore the lost glory of Tigania East," he said

Tigania West MP John Mutunga was re-elected after garnering 26,918 against former assistant minister Kilemi Mwiria who managed 14,069, former MP David Karithi got 2,281 while lawyer Mugambi Laichena 1,319 votes.