Radull, Akothee, Churchill, Itumbi among State job appointees

From left: Digital strategist Dennis Itumbi, musician Esther Akoth alias Akothee and comedian Daniel Ndambuki alias Churchill. [File, Standard]

The Cabinet Secretary (CS) for Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts Ababu Namwamba has set up Talanta Hela Council and Technical Committees to revitalise sports and the creative economy in Kenya.

There are two technical committees established to help realise the goals, one in charge of sports and the other in charge of the creative economy.

Talanta Hela Council, which is chaired by the Sports CS Namwamba, will be the overall overseer of the projects.

The other members of the Council are Sports Principal Secretary (PS) Jonathan Mueke, Youth Affairs Principal Secretary (PS) Charles Sunkuli, Basic Education Principal Secretary (PS) Dr. Belio Kipsang, Kizito Wangalwa, who will represent the Council of Governors; digital strategist Dennis Itumbi, David Langat, Debra Mallowah, Abraham Kipyego Mutai, Charles Gacheru, Claudia Naisabwa Leshomoo, Nobert Ouma and June Chepkemei.

The Talanta Hela Council and Technical Committees has a three-year mandate.

The Sports Technical Committee, under the Council, will be led by sports journalist Carol Radull as the chairperson.

The members of the committee are Boniface Ambani, Julius Kiplagat Yego, Neddy Kutsuru, Alfred Makotsi, Sammy Tiyoi Shollei, Collins Kale, Kevin Mutai, Shilovelo Winna Shilavula, Daniel Nakeor Losiru and Staicy Shariffa Ochieng.

Their responsibilities will include considering and proposing legislative and policy measures for the growth of sports and supporting the Kenya Academy of Sports in running a nationwide programme for identifying, developing and marketing Kenya's best sporting and creative talent from all the 47 counties.

The other technical committee is on the Creative Economy, chaired by comedian and radio presenter Churchill, whose real name is Daniel Ndambuki.

The members are Akinyi Odongo, radio host Jimmi Gathu, actress Catherine Kamau alias Kate Actress, musician Esther Akoth alias Akothee, Kizito Makhande, social media influencer Azziad Nasenya, musician Rosemary Wahu Kagwi popularly known as Wahu, Awadhi Salim Awadhi, Douglas Kipkirui Langat and Susan Ekasiba.

Their responsibilities will include proposing reliable systems for the seamless and accountable collection and distribution of royalties, proposing the implementation frameworks for the National Creatives Economy Plan, managing the National Creatives Awards, deploying the digital space in talent search, identification, nurturing and exposure and establishing a robust framework to monetise the creatives sector to expand employment opportunities.